Order Paper Questions

FINANCE, TRADE AND ECONOMIC AFFAIRS

CONCURRENCE IN TWENTY-SECOND REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE

Mr. John Evans (Ottawa Centre): Madam Speaker, if the House gives its consent, I move concurrence in the twenty-second report of the Standing Committee on Finance, Trade and Economic Affairs presented earlier today.

Madam Speaker: Does the House give its unanimous consent to the motion presented by the Hon. Member for Ottawa Centre?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Motion agreed to.

• (1520)

QUESTIONS ON THE ORDER PAPER

(Questions answered orally are indicated by an asterisk.)

Mr. John Evans (Parliamentary Secretary to President of the Privy Council): Madam Speaker, the following question will be answered today: No. 4,969.

[Text]

ECONOMIC COUNCIL OF CANADA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Question No. 4,969—Mr. Orlikow:

- 1. What is the composition of the Board of Directors of the Economic Council of Canada and what is the address and occupation of each individual?
- 2. What is the compensation and what are all the benefits paid to the chairperson, directors, president and vice-presidents of the Council?

Mr. John Evans (Parliamentary Secretary to President of the Privy Council): 1. The Economic Council is composed of up to 25 part-time Members and three full-time Members all of whom are Governor in Council appointments. The term of the former is three years and the latter seven years. Part-time Members receive no remuneration. The following are part-time Members:

Philip C. Barter Partner Price Waterhouse and Co. Vancouver

Roger Beauchemin Senior Associate Beauchemin-Beaton-Lapointe Montreal

Raymond Blais President Confédération des caisses populaires et d'économie Desjardins du Québec Lévis

Pierre Brien Vice-President Canada Lands Company (Mirabel) Ltd. Ste-Scholastique T. Earle Hickey Former Minister of Finance of P.E.I. Charlottetown

Gordon Hill Vice-Chairman Ontario Bean Producers Marketing Board London

Kalmen Kaplansky Senior Fellow Human Rights Centre University of Ottawa Ottawa

Pierre Lortie President Montreal Stock Exchange Montreal Paul-Emilien Dalpé Former Labour Leader St-Jérôme

G. Campbell Eaton Managing Director Newfoundland Tractor and Equipment Co. Ltd. St. John's

Shirley B. Goldenberg Professor Faculty of Management McGill University Montreal

Gerald V. Schuler Chief Executive Officer Co-operative College of Canada Charlottetown

Patrick Shimbashi Farmer Taber, Alberta

Ralph G. M. Sultan Vice President Starlaw Holdings Limited Donald H. McDougall Partner Stewart MacKeen & Covert Halifax

Peter Podovinikoff Chief Executive Officer B. C. Central Credit Union Vancouver

Alastair H. Ross President Allaro Resources Ltd. Calgary

Douglas P. Thomas Vice-President Toronto Investment Management Inc. Toronto

Roy Vogt Professor St. Paul's College University of Manitoba Winnipeg

J. Irving Zucker President Re-Vest Holdings Limited Hamilton

The three full-time Members are:

David W. Slater Chairman Economic Council of Canada

Peter M. Cornell Director Economic Council of Canada Ottawa

Patrick Robert Director Economic Council of Canada Ottawa

2. Compensation: Chairman—DM-2 (\$86,250 to \$101,500), Directors (2)—GIC-8 (\$73,000 to \$85,920).

Paid Benefits: The Chairman and Directors (2) receive the benefits associated with the Public Service Compensation Plan for Senior Executive Officers and Equivalents.

*

[English]

QUESTION PASSED AS ORDER FOR RETURN

Mr. John Evans (Parliamentary Secretary to President of the Privy Council): Madam Speaker, if Question No. 4,942 could be made an order for return, this return would be tabled immediately.