I have consulted the learned gentlemen at the Table who assure me, after a long reflection between six o'clock and eight o'clock, that they cannot recall a precedent where a six months hoist had been tacked upon a reasoned amendment, or vice-versa. I hesitate to make a change at this time on this long established practice, and I hope that the honourable Member will indicate to the House in what way he would like the amendment proposed.

By unanimous consent, the amendment of the honourable Member for Edmonton West (Mr. Lambert), seconded by the honourable Member for Hillsborough (Mr. Macquarrie), was amended and reads as follows:

That all the words after the word "That" be struck out and the following substituted therefor:

"this House holding the opinion that the Bill is repugnant in principle to the Members of this House as well as to the residents of Canada, including those of the townsites of Banff and Jasper National Parks, the persons most nearly affected by the Bill's purpose and intent, and that therefore the government should reconsider the principle of the Bill."

And debate arising thereon;

(Proceedings on Adjournment Motion)

At 10.01 o'clock p.m., the question "That this House do now adjourn" was deemed to have been proposed pursuant to Standing Order 40(1);

After debate the said question was deemed to have been adopted.

Changes in Committee Membership

Notice having been filed with the Clerk of the House pursuant to Standing Order 65(4)(b), membership of Committees was amended as follows:

Mr. Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) for Mr. Cantin on the Standing Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs.

Messrs. Gendron, Thomas (Maisonneuve) and Forget for Messrs. Comtois, Jerome and Francis on the Standing Committee on Privileges and Elections.

Mr. Noble for Mr. Mazankowski on the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications.

Messrs. Forget, Smith (Saint-Jean) and McCutcheon for Messrs. Gervais, Givens and Skoreyko on the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications.

Mr. Lewis for Mr. Gilbert on the Standing Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs.

Messrs. Smith (Northumberland-Miramichi) and Anderson for Messrs. Turner (London East) and Smerchanski on the Standing Committee on Fisheries and Forestry.

Messrs. O'Connell and Cullen for Messrs. Murphy and Corbin on the Standing Committee on Indian Affairs and Northern Development.