PROCEEDINGS OF

THE VERMONT HISTORICAL SOCIETY,

AT THE ANNUAL MEETING, 1876.

The annual meeting of the Vermont Historical Society was called to order in room No. 12, in the State House, at Montpelier, on Tuesday, October 17th, 1876, at 2 p. m.

The records of the last meeting were read and approved.

On motion, the following gentlemen were appointed a committee to nominate officers for the coming year: Samuel Wells, Dr. P. D. Bradford and Charles Dewey.

The Librarian's report was read by Mr. M. D. Gilman, the librarian, showing that the number of additions to the collections of the Society for the last two years is 4,784, for which acknowledgement has been made to each donor.

The Treasurer's report was read by Col. H. D. Hopkins, and ordered recorded.

E. B. Campbell, of Brattleboro, and J. G. Darling, of Boston, were elected honorary members.

The committee on nominations reported a list of officers for the ensuing year. Rev. Dr. Lord declined a re-election as president, and the report was on motion recommitted. Charles W. Porter and John W. Page were elected members of the Society. The following nominations were reported and the gentlemen named elected officers of the Society:

President-Hon. E. P. Walton, of Montpelier.

Vice-Presidents—Hon. James Barrett, of Woodstock, Luther L. Dutcher, of St. Albans, and Rev. Wm. S. Hazen, of Northfield.

Recording-Secretary-Chas. W. Porter, of Montpelier.

Corresponding-Secretaries—Hon. G. G. Benedict, of Burlington, O. S. Bliss, of Georgia.

Treasurer—John W. Page, of Montpelier. Librarian—Marcus D. Gilman, of Montpelier.

Curators—Hon. R. S. Taft, of Burlington; H. A. Cutting, M. D., of Lunenburgh; Hon. Gilbert A. Davis, of Reading; Rev. W. H. Lord, D. D., of Montpelier, and H. A. Huse, Esq., of Montpelier.

Printing and Publishing Committee—Ex. Gov. Hiland Hall, of Bennington; Hon. E. P. Walton, of Montpelier, Rev. W. H. Lord, of Montpelier,