COMMONS DEBATES

Government Orders

Dorin Edwards Fee Fontaine Gibeau Greene Gustafson Hawkes Holtmann Hudon James Kempling Landry Layton Lewis Lopez Marin Masse McCreath McDougall (St. Paul's) Merrithew Moore Nowlan Paproski Plourde Pronovost Reimer Robitaille Schneider Shields Sobeski Sparrow Tétreault Thompson Tremblay (Rosemont) Tremblay (Lotbinière) Van de Walle Venne Vien Weiner Wilbee Assiniboia) Winegard

Duplessis Epp Ferland Fretz Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Guilbault Harvey (Chicoutimi) Hogue Horning Hughes Jelinek Kourv Langlois Leblanc (Longueuil) Loiselle Malone Martin (Lincoln) Mayer McDermid McKnight Monteith Nicholson O'Kurley Plamondon Porter Redway Richardson St-Julien Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Siddon Soetens Stevenson Thacker Thorkelson Tremblay (Québec-Est) Turner (Halton-Peel) Vankoughnet Vézina Vincent White Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek-Wilson (Etobicoke Centre) Worthy-121

NAYS

Members

Allmand Anawak Arseneault Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Bélair Benjamin Black Boudria Caccia Campbell (South West Nova) Comuzzi Dionne Fisher Fontana Fulton Gardiner Grav (Windsor West) Guarnieri Harvard Hovdebo Jordan Keves Langan (Mission-Coquitlam) LeBlanc (Cape Breton Highlands-Canso) MacDonald (Dartmouth) Manley McCurdy Mifflin Mitchell Nystrom Parent

Althouse Angus Assad Baker Bellemare Bevilacqua Blackburn (Brant) Butland Callbeck Clancy de Jong Ferguson Flis Foster Gaffney Gauthier Grey (Beaver River) Harb Harvey (Edmonton East) Hunter Karpoff Kilger (Stormont-Dundas) Laporte MacAulay Maheu Marleau McGuire Milliken Nault Pagtakhan Peterson

Proud Robichaud Samson Skelly (North Island-Powell River) Stewart Taylor Wappel Young (Gloucester)

Pickard Riis Robinson Simmons Speller Stupich Waddell Wood Young (Beaches-Woodbine)-80

• (1600)

Phinney

[English]

Mr. Deputy Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

BUSINESS OF THE HOUSE

Mr. Cooper: Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. I wish first to advise the House that there have been discussions among the three parties and tomorrow will be designated as an allotted day.

Further, I believe Your Honour would find unanimous consent for the following motion:

That the order for second reading and reference to a legislative committee of Bill C-52, an act to amend the Income Tax Act and related acts, be amended to read "second reading and reference to the Standing Committee on Finance".

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Does the hon. member have leave to introduce the motion by unanimous consent?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: The House has heard the terms of the motion. Is it pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Motion agreed to.

* *

INCOME TAX ACT

MEASURE TO AMEND

The House resumed consideration of the motion of Mr. Wilson (Etobicoke Centre) that Bill C-52, an act to amend the Income Tax Act and related acts, be read a second time and, by unanimous consent, referred to the Standing Committee on Finance.

Ms. Dawn Black (New Westminster-Burnaby): Mr. Speaker, I rise today to address the House on Bill C-52, the retirement savings legislation.

I believe in pension reform and I strongly believe that older Canadians who have contributed to Canadian society through their hard work and child-rearing should have the best pensions that our society can afford. However I do not see any progress toward that kind of pension reform in this legislation. I have read it, and it is