STATE MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS, 1990

ISSUE

The Commission on Human Rights was established in 1946. Its primary purpose is to prepare recommendations and reports on international declarations or conventions, conventions on civil liberties, freedom of information, the protection of minorities, the prevention of discrimination on the basis of race, sex, language or religion, and any other matter concerning human rights. The Commission is composed of 43 members elected for a term of three years by the Economic and Social Council.

For the 1990 Session, the members of the Commission are as follows:

Α	f	r	i	c	an	S	t	а	t	e	S	
---	---	---	---	---	----	---	---	---	---	---	---	--

Asian States

	Botswana	(1990)*	Bangladesh	(1991)		
	Ethiopia	(1991)	China	(1990)		
	Gambia	(1990)	Cyprus	(1991)		
	Morocco	(1991)	India	(1991)		
	Nigeria	(1990)	Iraq	(1992)		
	Ghana	(1992)	Japan	(1990)		
	Madagascar	(1992)	Pakistan	(1992)		
	Senegal	(1992)	Philippines	(1992)		
	Somalia	(1992)	Sri Lanka	(1990)		
	Swaziland	(1991)				
	Sao Tome and Principe	(1990)				
Latin American States			Western European and Other			
			<u>States</u>			
	Argentina	(1990)	Belgium	(1991)		
	Brazil	(1992)	Canada	(1991)		
	Colombia	(1991)	France	(1992)		
	Cuba	(1991)	Germany, F.R.	(1990)		
	Mexico	(1992)	Italy	(1992)		
	Panama	(1991)	Portugal	(1990)		
	Peru	(1990)	Spain	(1990)		
	Venezuela	(1990)	Sweden	(1991) (1990)		
			United Kingdom			

U.S.A.

(1992)

Eastern European States

Bulgaria	(1990)
Hungary	(1992)
Ukrainian SSR	(1991)
U.S.S.R.	• •
	(1991)
Yogoslavia	(1992)

^{*} Indicates expiration date of term.