seats of Members and to the issuing and execution of new writs in case of any seat being vacated otherwise than by a dissolution, shall respectively apply to elections of Members to serve in the said the Legislative Assembly of *Lower Canada* and in the said the Legislative Assembly of *Upper Canada*.

14. That the Legislative Assembly of Lower Canada and the Legislative Assembly of Upper Canada respectively, shall continue for four years from the day of the return of the Writs for choosing the same, and no longer, subject, nevertheless, to either the said the Legislative Assembly of Lower Canada, or the said the Legislative Assembly of Upper Canada, being sooner prorogued or dissolved by the Lieutenant Governor of either of the said Provinces respectively.

15. That there shall be a Session of the Legislature of each of the said Provinces once at least every year, so that a period of twelve months shall not intervene between the last sitting of the Local Legislature in one Session, and the first sitting thereof in the next Session.

16. That it is expedient that any Act of the Imperial Parliament which may be passed for the Union of the Colonies of British North America, should contain a provision that the division and adjustment of the debts, credits, liabilities, properties and assets of the Provinces of Upper and Lower Canada, should be referred to the arbitrament of three arbitrators, one to be chosen by the Local Government of Upper Canada, the other by the Local Government of Lower Canada, and the third by the General Government; it being further provided that the selection of the arbitrators shall not take place until after the General Parliament for British Nor.h America and Local Legislatures for Upper and Lower Canada have been elected—and that the third arbitrator shall not be a resident in either Upper or Lower Canada.

SCHEDULE A.

- " Ottawa,
- " Argenteuil,
- " Huntingdon,
- " Missisquoi,
- " Brome,
- " Shefford,
- " Stanstead,
- " Compton,
- " Wolfe and Richmond,
- " Megantic and

the Town of Sherbrooke.

SCHEDULE B.

DIVISIONS TO STAND WITH THEIR PRESENT BOUNDARIES.

1. Counties of-Prescott, Glengarry, Stormont, Dundas, Russell, Carleton, Prince Edward, Halton and Essex.

2. Ridings of Counties:—Lanark North, Lanark South, Leeds and Grenville, North Riding, South Riding Leeds, South Riding Grenville, Northumberland East, Northumberland West (less South Monaghan), Durham East, Durham West, Ontario North, Ontario South, York East, York West, York North, Wentworth North, Wentworth South, Elgin East, Elgin West, Waterloo North, Waterloo South, Brant North, Brant South, Oxford North, Oxford South, Middlesex East Riding.

3. Cities and Towns: — Toronto East, Toronto West, Hamilton, Ottawa, Kingston, London, Brockville, with the Township of Elizabethtown, Niagara, with the Township of Niagara, Cornwall, with the Township of Cornwall.

NEW AND ALTERED ELECTORAL DIVISIONS.

31. District of Algoma :---

4. County of *Bruce* divided into two Ridings, to be called respectively the North and South Ridings.

The North Riding shall consist of the Townships of Bury, Lindsay, Eastnor,