### Private Members' Business

# PAIRED MEMBERS

Bellehumeur Culbert Pané St. Denis

LeBlanc (Cape/Cap-Breton Highlands-Canso)

Pomerleau

(Motion agreed to, bill read the third time and passed.)

The Speaker: Pursuant to an order made Tuesday, December 12, 1995, the House will now proceed to the taking of the deferred division on the motion of the hon. member for Cariboo-Chilcotin at second reading stage of Bill C-315.

## PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS

[English]

# PROTECTION OF PERSONAL INFORMATION OBTAINED BY CERTAIN CORPORATIONS ACT

The House resumed from December 12, consideration of the motion that Bill C-315, an act to complement the present laws of Canada that protect the privacy of individuals with respect to personal information about themselves obtained by certain corporations, be read the second time and referred to a commit-

The Speaker: As is the practice, the division will be taken row by row, starting with the mover and then proceeding with those in favour of the motion sitting on the same side of the House as the mover. Then those in favour of the motion sitting on the other side of the House will be called.

[Translation]

Those opposed to the motion will be called in the same order.

(The House divided on the motion, which was negatived on the following division:)

(Division No. 402)

### YEAS

Members Abbott Ablonczy Adams Allmand

Althouse Arseneault Asselin Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing)

Bachand Bélisle Benoit Bergeron Bernier (Gaspé) Bernier (Mégantic--Compton-Stanstead) Blaikie

Bouchard Breitkreuz (Yellowhead) Breitkreuz (Yorkton-Melville) Bridgman

Brien Brown (Calgary Southeast/Sud-Est) Caron Chatters

Chrétien (Frontenac) Crête Cummins Dalphond-Guiral Daviault de Jong de Savoye Debien Deshaies Dubé Duceppe Dumas Duncan Epp Fillion Forseth

Gagnon (Bonaventure-Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Gagnon (Ouébec) Gauthier Gilmour Godin

Lefebyre Leroux (Richmond-Wolfe) Leroux (Shefford) Lincoln Loney Loubier Maclaren MacLellan (Cape/Cap-Breton-The Sydneys) Malhi Maloney Manley Marchand Marchi Marleau Martin (LaSalle-Émard) Massé McCormick McGuire

McKinnon McLaughlin McLellan (Edmonton Northwest/Nord-Ouest) McTeague McWhinney Ménard Mercier Mifflin

Milliken Mills (Broadview-Greenwood)

Minna Mitchell Murphy Nault Nunez Nunziata O'Brien O'Reilly Ouellet Pagtakhan Paradis Parrish Patry Payne Peric Peters Peterson Phinney Picard (Drummond) Pickard (Essex-Kent)

Pillitteri Plamondon Proud Reed Regan Richardson Rideout Ringuette-Maltais Robichaud Robillard Robinson Rocheleau Rock Sauvageau Scott (Fredericton-York-Sunbury) Serré Shepherd Sheridan Simmons Speller

St-Laurent Steckle Stewart (Brant)

Stewart (Northumberland) Taylor Telegdi Теттапа Thalheimer

Torsney Tremblay (Rosemont) Tremblay (Rimouski-Témiscouata) Valeri Vanclief Venne

Verran Volpe Walker Wappel Wells Whelan Wood Young Zcd-207

## NAYS

#### Members

Abbott Ablonczy Benoit Breitkreuz (Yellowhead) Breitkreuz (Yorkton-Melville) Bridgman Brown (Calgary Southeast/Sud-Est) Chatters Cummins Duncan Ерр Forseth Gouk Grey (Beaver River) Grubel Hånger Hanrahan Harper (Calgary West/Ouest) Harper (Simcoe Centre) Hart Hayes Hermanson Hill (Macleod) Hill (Prince George-Peace River) Hoeppner Jennings Johnston Manning Kerpan Martin (Esquimalt-Juan de Fuca) Mayfield McClelland (Edmonton Southwest/Sud-Ouest) Meredith Morrison Penson Ramsay Ringma Schmidt Scott (Skeena) Solberg Silve Speaker Stinson Thompson White (Fraser Valley West/Ouest) Williams-47