Federal-Provincial Fiscal Arrangements Act

NAYS

Althouse Axworthy Benjamin Berger Boudria Cassidy Copps Deans de Corneille de Jong Epp (Thunder Bay-Nipigor	Frith Gauthier Guilbault (Saint-Jacques) Hopkins Hovdebo Isabelle Jewett Kaplan Keeper Marchi	Nicholson (Trinity) Orlikow Ouellet Prud'homme Riis Rodriguez Rossi Skelly Turner (Vancouver Quadra)—30.

(1820)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Mr. Deans: Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. I believe if you were to ask, there would be a disposition to have the vote just recorded applied to the following question. They would both appear to be the same.

Mr. Speaker: I take it there is a consensus on that matter.

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Mr. Speaker: Accordingly, the question is as follows: Mr. Wilson, seconded by Mr. Oberle, moves that Bill C-96, An Act to amend the Federal-Provincial Fiscal Arrangements and Federal Post-Secondary Education and Health Contributions Act, 1977, be read the second time and referred to a legislative committee.

Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour of the motion please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion, the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Shall we dispense with the ringing of the bells?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Mr. Speaker: Therefore, according to the agreement, the vote will be recorded in the same way as the last vote.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Wilson (Etobicoke Centre)), which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 257)

YEAS

Members

Andre	Fretz	Minaker
Attewell	Friesen	Mitges
Beatty	Gass	Moore
Bernier	Gérin	Nielsen
Bertrand	Greenaway	Oberle
Bissonnette	Hnatyshyn	O'Neil
Blenkarn	Horner	Pennock
Brightwell	James	Pietz
Brisco	Jardine	
Caldwell	Jepson	Plamondon
Carney	Johnson	Redway
Chartrand		Reimer
Clark	(Bonavista-Trinity-	Ricard
(Brandon-Souris)	Conception) Jourdenais	Scott
Collins		(Victoria-Haliburton)
Cook	Kempling	Scowen
	King	Siddon
Cooper Cossitt	Layton	Stewart
	Lesick	Tardif
Crofton	Lewis	(Charlesbourg)
Crosby	MacKay	Thacker
(Halifax West)	Mantha	Towers
Crouse	Mayer	Tupper
Darling	Mazankowski	Turner
de Cotret	McCrossan	(Ottawa-Carleton)
Desjardins	McCuish	Valcourt
Dick	McDougall	Vincent
Domm	(St. Paul's)	Warner
Dorin	McGrath	Wilson
Duplessis	McInnes	(Etobicoke Centre)
Ellis	McKenzie	Winegard-85.
Fennell	McKinnon	
Fraleigh	Merrithew	

NAYS

Members

Althouse Axworthy	Frith Gauthier	Nicholson (Trinity)
Benjamin	Guilbault	Orlikow
Berger	(Saint-Jacques)	Ouellet
Boudria	Hopkins	Prud'homme
Cassidy	Hovdebo	Riis
Copps	Isabelle	Rodriguez
Deans	Jewett	Rossi
le Corneille	Kaplan	Skelly
le Jong	Keeper	Turner
epp .	Marchi	(Vancouver Quadi
(Thunder Bay-Nipigo	on)	

Mr. Speaker: Accordingly, I declare the motion carried.

Bill read the second time and referred to a legislative committee.

Mr. Speaker: It being 6.25 p.m., this House stands adjourned until tomorrow at 11 a.m., pursuant to Standing Order 3(1).

The House adjourned at 6.25 p.m.