Firth

Gillies

Hare

Forrestall

Hamilton

Hargrave

Hnatyshyn

Huntington

Holmes

Jarvis

Johnston

Kempling

(Winnipeg North Centre)

(Norfolk-Haldimand)

(Northumberland-

Miramichi)

Douglas (Bruce-Grev)

Duclos

Dupont

• (2237)

(Swift Current-

Maple Creek)

point, sir, the function of all members of parliament as representatives of the people will be placed in greater jeopardy.

The question of ministerial responsibility is basic to our parliamentary system, or at least it was. It is important that ministers of the Crown do everything in their power to ensure that they are cognizant of the major activities in their departments, and as certain as possible of the truth of the statements which are issued under their signatures.

If government members avoid this issue and defeat this motion, and if they use the excuse that an extraneous body can have a role and make a ruling concerning the privilege of members of the House of Commons, then, sir, the most basic principles of our parliamentary democracy are being challenged, and they are being challenged by a government afraid of the truth.

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Speaker: Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

Mr. Speaker: The question is on the motion in the name of the hon. member for Northumberland-Durham (Mr. Lawrence). Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: Those in favour of the motion will please say vea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: Those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Lawrence), which was negatived on the following division.

(2202)

(Division No. 16)

YEAS

Messrs

Alexander Alkenbrack (Grenville-Carleton) Baldwin Beatty Blackburn

Broadbent Cadieu Clark (Rocky Mountain) (Vancouver Quadra) Crombie

Crosbie (St. John's West) Crosby (Halifax-East Hants) Crouse Faour

Privilege—Mr. Lawrence

Lambert (Edmonton West) La Salle Paproski Lawrence Parker MacDonald (Miss) Patterson (Kingston and the Peters Pigott (Mrs.) Islands) Rae Ritchie MacKay Masniuk Matte Mazankowski Rodriguez Saltsman McCain McCrossan (Hamilton-Wentworth) McGrath McKenzie Smith (Churchill) (Okanagan-Kootenay) McKinnon Munro Stevens Towers Whiteway (Esquimalt-Saanich) Murta Whittaker Nielsen Wise-75

NAYS

Nystrom

Duquet Abbott Allmand Anderson Faulkner Andras Fleming (Port Arthur) Andres Fox Francis (Lincoln) Appolloni (Mrs.) Baker Gauthier (Ottawa-Vanier) (Gander-Twillingate) Béchard Gillespie Bégin (Miss) Goodale Guilbault Blaker Harquail Herbert Holt (Mrs.) Blouin Boulanger Buchanan Hopkins Horner Cafik Isabelle Campagnolo (Mrs.) Johnston Campbell (LaSalle-Émard-Côte (Westmount) Joyal Saint-Paul) Kaplan Caron Lachance Clermont Lajoie Lamontagne Collenette Comtois Lang Langlois Lapointe Leblanc Côté Cullen Cyr Daudlin (Laurier) LeBlanc (Westmorland-Kent) Dawson De Bané Lefebvre Demers Lessard Loiselle

MacFarlane MacGuigan Maine Marceau McIsaac Milne Nicholson (Miss) O'Connell Olivier Ouellet Parent Pearsall Penner Philbrook Pinard Portelance Prud'homme Railton Raines Reid Roberts Robinson Rompkey Rooney Roy (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Sauvé (Mrs.) Savard Smith (Saint-Jean) Stewart (Cochrane) Tessier Trudel Watson Wood Yanakis Young-107.

MacEachen

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. I declare the motion defeated.

(Chambly)

MacDonald

(Cardigan)

(Saint-Henri)

Loiselle

It being after ten o'clock, this House stands adjourned until tomorrow at eleven o'clock in the morning.

At 10.41 p.m. the House adjourned, without question put, pursuant to Standing Order.