concerned and would be subject to approval of both countries involved. The transfer of offenders programme promotes the rehabilitation of offenders by enabling them to serve the remainder of their sentences in the country of which they are nationals, close to family and friends.

At present there are 24 Canadians known to be in jails of member States of the Council of Europe.

Although Canada is not a member of the Council of Europe the Convention provides for accession by non-members. Canadian officials participated actively in the drafting of the Convention on the basis of Canadian experience in this area with other countries.

The Convention was signed on behalf of Canada in Strasbourg, France, the seat of the Council of Europe, on March 21, 1983 by the Canadian Consul General in Strasbourg, Mr. Jean-Yves Grenon. In addition to Canada, the countries that initially signed this Convention are Austria, Sweden, Federal Republic of Germany, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Switzerland, Portugal, Belgium, Greece, Denmark, and the United States of America. Other member States of the 21 member Council of Europe are expected to add their signatures at later dates as permitted by the Convention.

The Convention will come into force following the expiration of three months after the date on which three members tates of the Council of Europe have expressed their consent to be bound by the Convention. The Convention will come into for for Canada when it has entered into force in this manner and Canada has ratified it.

Inquiries on this Convention should be addressed to Consular Policy Division, Department of External Affairs, (613) 992-5313 or to the Special Assistant, Media, Ministry of the Solicitor General, (613) 996-0220.