than in most African states. He denied that Portuguese colonial policy was being supported by financial, economic or military assistance from the West, and accused the African states of disturbing the peace in Angola and Mozambique. He also invited the Council to set up a sub-committee to assess whether the situation was in fact a threat to international peace and security and, at the same time, to investigate bases and camps in neighbouring countries used for infiltration into the Portuguese territories. On November 23, the Council adopted a resolution calling upon Portugal to give immediate effect to the principle of self-determination and requesting all states to refrain from offering Portugal any assistance "which would enable it to continue its repression of the people of the territories under its administration" and to take all the necessary measures "to prevent the supply of arms and military equipment to the Portuguese Government for this purpose". This resolution was similar to one adopted by the Council on July 1, 1963.

Economic and Social Council

The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and its subsidiary bodies are the principal groups through which the United Nations endeavours to promote higher standards of living and conditions of economic and social progress. Until the end of 1965, the Council was composed of 18 members elected by the General Assembly for terms of three years, one-third of the seats on the Council being filled by elections held each year. In 1965, Canada began its current term on the Council along with Pakistan, Roumania, Gabon, Peru and the United States.¹

By September 1, 1965, the required number of member states had ratified the amendment to the Charter enlarging the Council to 27 seats. Seven of the nine additional seats were assigned to the Afro-Asian group, one to the Latin American group and one to the West European and Others group. In order to provide a proper staggering of terms, three of the new members were to serve in the first instance for three years, three for two years and three for one year. In December 1965, the General Assembly elected or reelected Britain, Czechoslovakia, Panama, the Philippines, Sweden and the Soviet Union to the six existing seats that were about to become vacant, and Iran, Morocco, Venezuela (three-year terms), Cameroun, Dahomey and India (two-year terms) and Greece, Sierra Leone and Tanzania (one-year terms) to the nine additional seats.

¹See Appendix II-4 for past and present membership of ECOSOC.