II. The Committee shall consist of an equal number of members from each country and will include appropriate officials from the Governments of Canada and the United States; the Governments of New Brunswick, Quebec and Maine, and also representatives of the St. John River Planning Board, and the Northern Maine Regional Planning Commission. The members will represent the respective authorities (who will pay such expenses as may be incurred in this respect) and provide the special skills, experience and information required to carry out the above terms of reference. The Committee should have the smallest number of members effectively to perform its functions. Advisors or observers to the Committee may be paid by Governments or serve without salary or expense allowance. The United States and Canadian sections of the Committee shall each designate a Chairman of its section. The Chairmen of the two sections shall be Joint Chairmen of the Committee and shall be responsible for providing proper liaison between the Committee and their respective authorities. The Chairmen will keep their respective section members informed of plans, activities and progress. Each Chairman after consulting the members of his own section of the Committee may appoint a Secretary of that section.

III Upon the completion of its efforts with regard to the co-ordination of water quality planning in the St. John River Basin, the Committee shall provide a report on its progress and activities for the Commission. If the Committee has not completed its work within one year of the date of this Exchange of Notes, it shall in that event provide an interim progress report for the Commission by September 30, 1973, and to the extent necessary, annually thereafter. The Committee shall also provide the Commission with copies of the proceedings of its regular meetings.

The Committee shall also provide a report on its progress and activities for the Governments of Canada and the United States as pilot and co-pilot of the Inland Water Pollution Project of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization's Committee on the Challenges of Modern Society, prior to September 30, 1973, and to the extent necessary, annually thereafter.