know reflected the feeling of the overwhelming number of members of Parliament and of the overwhelming number of Canadians, and that should be understood.

Those who appeared in certain aspects of last night program on The Journal do not reflect the views of Canadians and I applaud the decision that the minister has taken. It is important that he has made this as his first statement of policy in this House. It is a progressive step. He has a big agenda ahead of him and I hope that this will be the first of many progressive statements that he will be making in his new role as Solicitor General of Canada.

## AN ACT TO AMEND CERTAIN STATUTES TO **ENABLE RESTRAINT OF GOVERNMENT EXPENDITURES**

Hon. John McDermid (for the Minister of Finance) moved for leave to introduce a bill entitled an act to amend certain statutes to enable restraint of government expenditures.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): Shall the hon. minister have leave to introduce the said bill?

Some hon. members: Agreed.

Some hon. members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 201)

### YEAS

### Members

Corbeil

Anderson Attewell Blackburn (Jonquière) Browes Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Champagne (Champlain) Cole

Cooper

Bertrand Bourgault Brightwell Cadieux Chadwick Clark (Brandon-Souris)

# Routine Proceedings

Crosby (Halifax West) de Cotret Domm Gibeau Gustafson Hawkes Holtmann Horning Hughes Johnson Kempling Koury Layton Lopez MacKay Mayer McDermid Monteith Nicholson Ricard Robitaille Saint-Julien Tardif Tremblay (Québec-Est) Valcourt Vankoughnet Vézina Vincent

Côté Danis DeBlois Desjardins Edwards Fretz Guilbault Harvey (Chicoutimi) Hicks Hogue Hudon Jelinek Joncas Kilgour (Edmonton Southeast) Larrivée Loiselle MacDougall (Timiskaming) Malone Mazankowski Merrithey Moore O'Kurley Richardson Roy-Arcelin Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Tremblay (Rosemont) Turner (Halton-Peel) Van de Walle Venne White

Wilson (Swift Current - Maple Creek -Worthy-85

Anawak

Black

Butland

de Jong

Fisher

Bellemare

### NAYS

### Members

Allmand Arseneault Bevilacqua Blackburn (Brant) Catterall Finestone Funk Gauthier Heap Hunter Keves Langan (Mission-Coquitlam) LeBlanc (Cape Breton Highlands-Canso) Milliken Nault Parker

Foster Gardiner Guarnieri Hoydebo Kristiansen Laporte MacLaren Murphy Parent

Skelly (North Island-Powell River) Young (Beaches - Woodbine) - 38

• (1140)

Stupich Whittaker

Wilbee

Assiniboia)

[Translation]

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): I declare the motion carried.

The hon. member for Louis-Hébert, on a point of order.

Mrs. Duplessis: Madam Speaker, I would like it to be read into the record that if I had been present, I would have voted for the government.