CANADIAN DELEGATION TO THE UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY (EIGHTEENTH SESSION)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PRESS RELEASE NO. 1 September 9, 1963.

Press Office 750 Third Avenue YUkon 6-5740

Composition of the Canadian Delegation to the Eighteenth Session of the General Assembly of the United Nations

The Prime Minister, the Right Honourable Lester B. Pearson, has announced the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the Eighteenth Session of the United Nations General Assembly. The following have been appointed:

The Hon. Paul Martin, P.C., Q.C., M.P.

- Secretary of State for External Affairs, Chairman of the Delegation.

Dr. John B. Stewart, M.P.

- Parliamentary Secretary to the Secretary of State for External Affairs, Vice-Chairman of the Delegation.

The Hon. Milton F. Gregg, V.C.,

- Member of the Privy Council of Canada.

Mrs. Margaret Konantz, M.P.

- Member of Parliament for Winnipeg South.

H.E. Mr. Paul Tremblay

- Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations.

The Hon. Senator T. D'Arcy Leonard,

C.B.E., Q.C. - Member of the Senate of Canada.

Mr. Leo Cadieux, M.P.

- Member of Parliament for Terrebonne.

Mr. George Nixon, M.P.

(until November 1)
 Member of Parliament for Algoma West.

Mr. James E. Brown, M.P.

- (after November 1)
Member of Parliament for Brantford.

Mr. Kalmen Kaplansky

- Executive of Canadian Labour Congress.

H.E. Mr. J. Louis E. Couillard

- Canadian Ambassador to Norway and Iceland.

Special Adviser
Lt.-Gen. Eedson L.M. Burns,
D.S.O., O.B.E., M.C.

- Canadian Government Adviser on Disarmament.

Brief biographical sketches of these Delegates are attached.