à

The Honorable the Speaker presented to the House a List of the Shareholders of the Maritime Bank of the Dominion of Canada, as on the 18th February, 1879.

Ordered, That the same do lie on the Table, and it is as follows:

(Vide Sessional Papers, No. 12)

The Honorable Mr. Guévrement moved, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Flint,

That an humble Address be presented to His Excellency the Governor General, praying that His Excellency will be pleased to cause to be laid before this House copies of all Petitions, correspondence and Reports of Engineers, Orders in Council and other Documents having reference to the building of an ice pier (brice-glace) on River St. Lawrence, along the Concession called Chenal du Moine, in the Parish of Ste. Anne de Sorel, forming heretofore part of the Parish of St. Pierre de Sorel.

The question of concurrence being put thereon, the same was resolved in the

affirmative, and it was

Ordered, That the said Address be presented to His Excellency the Governor General by such Members of this House as are Members of the Privy Council.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Campbell, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Aikins, it was

Resolved, That the Honorable Messieurs Alexander, Allan, Baillargeon, Boucherville de, Bourinot, Campbell, Chapais, Christie, Cornwall, Fabre, Ferguson, Haythorne, Montgomery, Reesor, Ryan, Scott, Stevens, Trudel and Wark, be appointed a Committee to assist His Honor the Speaker in the direction of the Library of Parliament, so far as the interests of this House are concerned; and to act on behalf of this House as Members of a Joint Committee of both Houses on the Library.

Ordered, That the foregoing Resolution be communicated to the House of

Commons by one of the Masters in Chancery.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Campbell, seconded by the Honorable Mr.

Aikins, it was

Ordered, That the Honorable Messieurs Aikins, Bellerose, Benson, Botsford, Brown, Campbell, Chinic, Hamilton (Inkerman), Hamilton (Kingston), Hope, Lewin, McMaster, Macpherson, Miller, Northup, Páquet, Pelletier, Ryan, Simpson, Skead, Smith, Thibaudeau, Trudel, Vidal and Wark, be appointed a Committee on Banking and Commerce for the present Session, to whom shall be referred all Bills on those subjects.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Campbell, seconded by the Honorable Mr.

Aikins, it was

Ordered, That the Honorable Messieurs Alexander, Allan, Bureau, Boucherville de, Campbell, Chapais, Christie, Cochrane, Cornwall, Dickey, Ferguson, Ferrier, Hamilton (Inkerman), Kaulbach, Leonard, Macdonald, McLelan (Londonderry), Montgomery, Muirhead, Páquet, Power, Price, Scott, Skead, Stevens, Sutherland and Vidal, be appointed a Committee on Railways, Telegraphs and Harbors for the present Session, to whom shall be referred all Bills on these subjects.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Campbell, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Aikins, it was

Ordered, That the Honorable Messieurs Aikins, Allan, Archibald, Armand, Bellerose, Botsford, Bourinot, Brouse, Campbell, Christie, Cornwall, Dever, Dickson, Ferrier, Flint, Girard, Glasier, Grant, Guévremont, Haviland, Haythorne, Howlan, Macfarlane, Miller, Montgomery, Northup, Odell, Pàquet, Pelletier, Power, Pozer, Read, Reesor, Scott, Sutherland, Trudel and Vidal, be appointed a Committee on Standing Orders and Private Bills, with power to examine and enquire into all such matters and things as may be referred to the said Committee, to report from time to time their observations and opinions thereon, and to send for persons, papers and records.