HINDI

COUNTRY: India

POST: New Delhi

Hindi is the official language of the Republic of India. English is also recognized and spoken by the majority of the population.

Hindi, Urdu and Hindustani are all names for essentially the same language. In its simplest form it is used as the lingua franca for most of the subcontinent.

Literary Hindi is written in the Deva Nagari script and relies heavily on Sanskrit for erudite and technical terminology. Urdu on the other hand, is written in the Arabic script.

The partition of the subcontinent in 1947 and the creation of India and Pakistan have increased the differences between the two languages. The Hindu religion of India and the Muslim religion of Pakistan are largely responsible for these differences.