years and the next session will be in April, 1959. Between sessions the affairs of the organization are managed by the Executive Committee (consisting of 15 directors of meteorological services) on which Canada is represented. There are also seven technical commissions covering the main fields of modern meteorology and six regional associations. Dr. Andrew Thomson, Director of the Canadian Meteorological Services, who has been President of Regional Association IV (North and Central America) resigned in December, 1958 at the conclusion of his third term.

During 1958 the Synoptic Commission met in New Delhi and plans were made for establishing a communications network around the world in the Northern Hemisphere for exchanging weather information. The Executive Committee met in Geneva where much attention was devoted to the development of forecasting procedures for jet aircraft operating at high altitudes. The Executive Committee has also accepted responsibility in the field of Hydrology and was able to give advice to the United Nations on questions of outer space.

The International Geophysical Year (IGY) terminated on December 31, 1958, and all weather services are now completing the transmission of information to the IGY Data Centre in Geneva. The first microcards prepared at the Data Centre have been distributed, showing the world's weather data, a record of both surface and upper air each six hours since the beginning of the IGY in July 1957.

The WMO contribution to the Expanded Technical Assistance Programme (ETAP) includes training schools, scholarships, and advice on the administration of weather services in countries without such facilities. Weather practices and codes are now uniform in almost all countries and WMO Guides published in many languages have contributed greatly to this. Progress in applied meteorology such as upper air forecasting has been advanced by the publication of technical notes by outstanding experts.

## The International Atomic Energy Agency

The International Atomic Energy Agency, an inter-governmental organization within the United Nations family, came into existence on July 29, 1957, when its statute had been ratified by twenty-six signatory governments. These included those of Canada, France, the United Kingdom, the United States and the USSR. (The statute was to become effective upon ratification by eighteen signatories, including three of the countries named above). The first proposal for the establishment of this Agency had been made by the President of the United States to the United Nations General Assembly on December 8, 1953, and was subsequently unanimously endorsed by the General Assembly. Canada served on the various preparatory bodies leading to the formation of the Agency, and, together with France, the United Kingdom, the United States and the USSR, serves on the Board of Governors as one of the countries "most advanced in the technical aspects of atomic energy including the production of source materials."

The first General Conference of the Agency took place at its headquarters in Vienna from October 1-23, 1957. It dealt primarily with the proposals made by the Preparatory Commission that had been set up to prepare for the organization and activities of the Agency during its first year of existence.