DECLARATION OF PRINCIPLES OF THE DOMINION ALLIANCE.

1. That it is neither right nor politic for the state to afford legal protection and sanction to any traffic or system that tends to increase crime, to waste the national resources, to corrupt the social habits and to destroy the health and lives of the people.

II. That the traffic in intoxicating beverages is hostile to the true interests of individuals, and destructive of the order and welfare of society, and ought therefore to be prohibited.

III. That the history and results of all past legislation in regard to the liquor traffic abundantly prove that it is impossible satisfactorily to limit or regulate a system so essentially mischievous in its tendencies.

IV. That no consideration of private gain or public revenue can justify the upholding of a system so utterly wrong in principle, suicidal in policy, and disastrous in results, as the traffic in intoricating liquors.

V. That the total prohibition of the liquor traffic is in perfect harmony with the principles of justice and liberty, is not restrictive of legitimate commerce, and is essential to the integrity and stability of government, and the welfare of the community.

VI. That, rising above sectarian and party considerations, all citizens should combine to procure an enactment prohibiting the manufacture, importation and sale of intoxicating beverages as affording most efficient aid in removing the appalling evils of intemperance.

CONSTITUTION

OF THE COUNCIL OF THE DOMINION ALLIANCE.

ARTICLE I.-NAME.

The name of this organization shall be the Council of the Dominion Alliance for the Total Suppression of the Liquor Traffic.

II.-OBJECT.

The object of the Council of the Dominion Alliance shall be the immediate prohibition of the liquor traffic.

III. - MEMBERSHIP.

This Council shall be composed of its officers and representatives in sympathy with the foregoing declaration of principles, elected by bodies favorable to prohibition on the following basis: From the Provincial Branches of the Alliance; Ontario 20, Quebec 16, Nova Scotia 10, New Brunswick 8, Prince Edward Island and Manitoba 5 each, British Columbia and North-west Territories 4 each; from Dominion Church and Temperance bodies, 4 each; from provincial temperance organizations, viz: W C.T.U., S. of T., I.O.G.T., and R.T. of T., 4 each; from religious bodies as follows: Each Presbyterian Synod 4, each Methodist Conference 4, each provincial Baptist Union 4, each Congregational Union 4, each Episcopal Diocesan Synod 4, each Catholic Diocese 4, the R. E. Church in Canada 4, each other Canadian church body, with a membership of not less than one thousand, 4.