Names of Members

present, (and not appearing to be under the disqualifications mentioned in said Act, or not being excused at their own request, on account of their being then serving on a previous Election Committee,) were drawn, viz:—Mr. Wilson, Mr. Beckwith, Mr. Clements, Mr. Huntington, Mr. McNab, Mr. Logan, Mr. Martell, Hon. Solicitor General, Mr. Dimock, Hon. Attorney General, Mr. Marshall, Mr. Thorne, Mr. Bourneuf, Mr. Ross and Mr. Fulton; and thereupon Lists of the fifteen Members, so chosen by lot, were given to the respective Counsel of the Petitioner and the sitting Member, who then withdrew with the Clerk Assistant, in order to reduce the same, pursuant to said Act;—and the doors were unlocked.

Petitions from Overseers of Annapolis

Referred to Com.

Two Petitions of Overseers of the Poor for the Township of Annapolis were presented by Mr. Whitman, and read, praying reimbursment of the expenses of Transient Paupers. Ordered, That the Petitions be referred to the Committee on the Claims for expenses of Transient Paupers.

Petition from A. James for aid as Law Reporter.

A Petition of Alexander James, of Halifax, Attorney at Law, was presented by Mr. G. R. Young, and read, setting forth his having been appointed by His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor, to the Office of Reporter to the Court of Chancery, the Supreme Court, and Court of Vice Admiralty; and praying that a Grant may be made to defray the expense of publishing the Reports. And thereupon

Leave moved for to bring in Bill on Petition, negatived. Mr. G. R. Young moved for leave to bring in a Bill pursuant to the prayer of said Petition: which being seconded and put, and the House dividing thereon, there appeared for the motion nineteen, against it twenty-four.

For the	Motion—	Against the	Motion-
Mr. McKeagney,	Mr. A. M. Uniacke,	Mr. Fleming,	Mr. Benjamin,
" Marshall,	" Creighton,	"Crowell,"	" Bourneuf,
Hon. Sol. General,	" Dickey,	" E. Young,	" G. Smith,
Mr. Fairbanks,	" Owen,	" Clements,	" Wilson,
" Dewolf,	" Thorne,	" Martell,	" Fulton,
" Holmes,	" Taylor,	" Crowe,	" Power,
Hon. Atty. General,	" $Ryder$.	" Dimock,	" Howe,
Mr. Fraser,		" Hall,	" Doyle,
" Wilkins,		" Huntington,	" Brenan,
" $Budd$,	•	" McLelan,	" Ross,
" G. R. Young,		" Beckwith,	" McNab,
" Logan,		" Whitman,	" B. Smith.

So it passed in the negative.

Ordered, That the Petition do lie on the Table.

List of Names struck on Horton Election Com. delivered in.

The Clerk Assistant delivered in to the House the Names of the Seven Members remaining, after the number drawn by ballot this day, in regard to the Election for the Township of Horton, had been reduced according to law, by the Counsel for the parties alternately striking off names therefrom; and the names of the said seven Members so delivered in, being read, are as follows, viz:—Mr. Wilson, Mr. McNab, Mr. Dimock, Mr. Marshall, Mr. Thorne, Mr. Bourneuf, and Mr. Fulton:—who thereupon were duly sworn by the Clerk at the Table of the House, "well and truly to try the merits of the Petition referred to them, and true judgment to give according to the evidence" pursuant to the provisions of the Statute.

Time for Meeting of Committee.

Ordered,—That the said Select Committee so formed, do meet to-morrow the fifth instant, at twelve of the clock at noon, in the Committee Room of this House, called the Grand Jury Room, for the purpose of hearing and determining the merits of the Election and Return of Perez M. Benjamin, Esquire, taken this day into consideration.

Petition against return of Mr. Benjamin, and Scrutiny, refer'd to Committee.

Ordered,—That the Petition of William Johnson, complaining of an undue Election and the return of Mr. Benjamin, the sitting Member for the Township of Horton, and