Canadian Diplomatic Representation

Canada's right to independent diplomatic representation abroad was a development of the world-wide recognition of this country's place among the nations during the last war and at the Paris Peace Conference, and of the constitutional developments which reached their culmination in the resolution of the Imperial Conference of 1926 and the Statute of Westminster.

Although Canada had had representatives in London and Paris since the last century, the first fully accredited diplomatic representative in a foreign country was the Minister to Washington appointed in 1927.

Canada now has High Commissioners in six Commonwealth countries: United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Ireland, and Newfoundland;

Ministers in five countries: Brazil, Argentine, Chile, the Soviet Union, and China.

A Charge d'Affaires in London accredited to the governments of Belgium, Holland, Norway, Czechoslovakia, Poland, Yugoslavia, and Greece.

A representative accredited to the French Committee of National Liberation in Algiers.

A Consul-General in New York.

Consuls in Greenland and St. Pierre and Miquelon.

5 countries have High Commissioners in Canada: United Kingdom, Australia, South Africa, Ireland, New Zealand.

1 country has an embassy in Canada: the United States.

13 countries have legations in Canada: Belgium, China, Poland, Norway, Yugoslavia, Greece, Czechoslovakia, Brazil, Chile, Sweden, Argentine, Soviet Union, Netherlands.

At the beginning of the War Canada had one High Commissioner in London, Ministers in Washington, Paris, Tokyo, and alternately in the Hague and Brussels, and a Permanent Delegate to the League of Nations at Geneva. The great expansion of the diplomatic service has come since the beginning of the War, and the

W.L.M. King Papers, Memoranda and Notes, 1940-1950, MG 26 J 4, Volume 240, pages C161485-C162390