CONSTITUTION OF THE SOCIETY.

I. The Society shall be called the DIOCESAN CHURCH SOCIETY OF NEW-BRUNSWICK.

II.

No constitution, by-law, rule or regulation of the Society, or any abrogation, repeal, change, or alteration of the same. shall be of any force until it shall have been sanctioned and confirmed by the Bishop of, and administering the Diocese for the time being, by writing under his hand.

III.

The payment at any one time of a sum not less than Ten Pounds, shall constitute a Life Member; and the payment annually of any sum, however small, shall constitute the person paying the same a Member of the Society.

IV.

The Society shall have a President, who shall be the Lord Bishop of the Diocese; two or more Vice Presidents, of whom the Archdeacon shall be the first; one or more Treasurers; one or more Secretaries; two Auditors of Accounts; and an Executive Committee of twenty-four Lay Members of the Society, being Life Members of the Society, or Subscribers of, at least, One Pound to the funds of the Society; who, with the exception of the President and Vice Presidents, shall be annually elected at the Anniversary Meeting.

v.

The Officers of the Society and the Clergy of the Diocese shall be *ex-officio* members of the committee : five to be a quorum, and three of the five Laymen.

VI.

The Society shall embrace the following objects, and none other, viz.:

1. Missionary Visits to places where there is no settled Clergyman, and aid to new and poor Missions.

2. The establishment of Divinity Scholarships at King's College, Fredericton; and assistance, where necessary, to those who may be under preparation for the Ministry, especially Sons of Clergymen.

3. Aid to Sunday and other Schools, in which Church principles are taught, and the training and encouraging of Schoolmasters and Catechists.

119

ive

ive

١