every school. The schools were in session during the summer months

for twelve hours per day.

During the first quarter of the century the population increased from 25,000 to 75,000. The Newfoundland School Society was founded through the efforts of Mr. Samuel Codner, a Devonshire trader. Its headquarters was in London, England. The Home Government gave grants of land for school purposes, free passages from England on ships open to teachers, and pecuniary assistance towards the erection of school houses and the payment of teachers' salaries. In 1824 the society opened its first school, and at the end of eighteen years, when the first Education Act was passed, it had 60 schools in operation. This society still exists, and to-day has 21 schools, employing 24 teachers, and having an attendance of over 2,000 pupils.

In 1832 a Representative Government was granted to Newfoundland and in 1836 the Assembly passed its first Education Act. This Act made provision for the division of the island into nine educational districts and the appointment of a Board of Education of twelve persons for each district to spend the appropria tions. Out of the grant of £2,100, £600 were paid in equal proportions to the Newfoundland School Society and to the Roman Catholics towards the support of schools then estab-

lished.

In 1843 a new Act was passed, by which the education grant, £5.100, was divided equally between Pro testants and Roman Catholics, and the island divided into 18 Roman Catholic and 18 Protestant districts, for each district to spend the allocation of the grant. made for the appointment of an In-leducational purposes in its respec-

child in attendance was collected at spector at a salary of £300 sterling per annum.

> This Act remained in force until 1851, when an Act was passed increasing the grant to £7,500 and creating two central Boards of Education, one for Protestants and one for Roman Catholics. Local Boards were appointed to act under instruc tions from the Central Boards. each of the Central Boards was allotted £2400 of the grant. ever, in the next year power was given to the Boards to administer the whole of their respective grants. This method did not prove very satisfactory, and in 1853 the island was divided into 23 districts and local Boards appointed to spend the appropriations. In this year £380 was voted for the establishment of nine commercial schools in local centres.

In 1850 the grant was increased to £10,525, and divided between Protestants and Roman Catholics. according to respective numbers. $f_{1,000}$ was allotted to commercial schools which then numbered fifteen, £750 for the training of teachers, and £400 for the inspection of schools. This law continued until 1875, when the present system of education came into force and the grant divided among all the religious denominations of the colony. Then school inspectors were appointed in 1874, one each for the Church of England, Methodist and Roman Catholic schools. The inspection of the other denominations is undertaken by the Protestant inspectors year about. The island is divided into districts: a Board of Education for each district is appointed by the Governor-in-Council. The resident clergyman is always a and a Board of Education appointed | member of the Board. It is the duty of these Boards to manage and ex-Provision was pend all monies appropriated for