## GEOGRAPHY.

Tripoli.—It is bounded north by the Mediterranean; east, by Egypt; south, by Sahara; west, by Tunis. The capital is Tripoli.

C

n t

t

f

i

C

C ]

(

C

C

I

t

8

C

8

Tunis.—It is bounded on the north and north-east by the Mediterranear; south-east, by Tripoli; south, by Sahara; west, by Algeria. The capital is Tunis.

Algeria. — Algeria is bounded on the north by the Mediterranean; east, by Tunis; south, by Sahara; west, by the Empire of Morocco. The capital is Algiers. Principal cities: Oran, Constantine, Bona, Mazagran.

Morocco.—The empire of Morocco is bounded north by the strait of Gibraltar and the Mediterranean; east, by Algeria; south, by Sahara; west, by the Atlantic. The capital is Morocco.

Cities .- Fez, Tafilet, Ceuta and Tangier.

Morocco is noted for leather, called morocco leather.

3. Six countries on the Atlantic: Sahara, Senegambia, Upper Guinea, Congo or Lower Guinea, Ovampo, and the Hottentot Country.

Sahara.—This immense desert, or sea of sand, strewed with oases, is bounded north by the States of Barbary; east, by Egypt and Nubia; south, by Nigritia and Senegambia; west, by the Atlantic.

Senegambia.—Senegambia is bounded on the north by Sahara; on the east, by Nigritia; on the south, by Guinea; on the west, by the Atlantic. The French, English, and Portuguese have possessions on the coasts of Senegambia; the French, on the Senegal river; chief-town, St. Louis; the English, on the Gambia, chief-town, Bathurst; the Portuguese, on the Casamance.

Senegambia is noted for its trees, as the enormous baobab, &c.

Guinea.-Upper Guinea is the name applied to the