QUEBEC UNDER TWO FLAGS

The members of the Legislative Assembly are elected for the term of Parliament which is five years, and the members of the Legislative Council are appointed for life. The government is administered by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council.

Sir Narcisse Belleau was named Lieutenant-Governor of the Province at Confederation, and he called the Honourable Mr. Chauveau to form the first Provincial Ministry.

The Lieutenant-Governors, since Confederation, have been French-Canadians, and their term of office is given in the following table. Sir Louis Jetté was appointed in 1903 for a second term of five years:

Belleau, Sir N. F	1867-1873
Caron, the Hon. R. E	1873-1876
Letellier, the Hon. St. Just	1876-1879
Robitaille, the Hon. W. T	1879-1884
Masson, the Hon. L. R	1884-1887
Angers, the Hon. A. R	1887-1892
Chapleau, Sir J. A	1892-1899
Jetté Sir Louis A	1898-1903
" " "	1903

Spencer Wood is the official residence of the Lieutenant Governor, and a brief history of this building is here made:

The name of Spencer Wood was given to the property by Michael Henry Percival, collector of customs, when he purchased the estate on the 3rd of April, 1811, from François Le Houillier. It had