Parliament

amination of the estimates by the committee is a waste of ne. How can hon, members over there continue to kid emselves when the reputation of parliament is the way it is id when their party is going down the drain? How can they there and say the Canadian people think this is okay? stitutions are very difficult to reform internally, and certaindifficult to reform with that group over there.

The last point I want to make, and I want to make it very early, is that we are here as trustees of the money of the cople of Canada. We have a fiduciary obligation which is not sing fulfilled and which cannot be fulfilled with the rules as ey are and the way that committees operate in Canada. This an indictment of this government over the last 15 years. It is i indictment hon. members over there will have to live with. et me tell hon. members again that what we have here is a atter of principle, that when we destroy our institutions, as ey have been trying to do, we are in great trouble.

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear!

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Ethier): Order, please. It is my ity, pursuant to Standing Order 58(9), to interrupt the occeedings at this time and put the question on the motion. he question is on the motion of the hon. member for Yukon *A*r. Nielsen). Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the otion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Ethier): All those in favour will ease say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Ethier): All those opposed will ease say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Ethier): In my opinion the nays we it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Ethier): Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Nielsen) which was gatived on the following division:

(2152)

(Division No. 15)

	Messrs.	
exander kenbrack	Brewin Brisco	Crombie Crosby
ker	Broadbent	(Halifax-East Hant
(Grenville-Carleton)	Cadieu	Crouse
ldwin	Caouette	de Cotret
lfour	(Villeneuve)	Dick
wden	Clark	Dinsdale
atty	(Rocky Mountain)	Epp
audoin	Clarke	Firth
njamin	(Vancouver Quadra)	Forrestall
ickburn	Corbett	Fraser

Friesen Gillies Grafftey Halliday Hamilton (Qu'Appelle-Moose Mountain) Hamilton (Swift Current-Maple Creek) Hare Hargrave Hees Hnatyshyn Hogan Holmes Howie Huntington Hurlburt Janelle Jeline Johnston (Okanagan-Kootenay) Jones Kempling Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Knowles

(Norfolk-Haldimand)

Abbott Allmand Anderson Andras (Port Arthur) Appolloni (Mrs.) Bechard Bégin (Miss) Blais Blaker Blouin Boulanger Buchanan Bussières Caccia Cafik Campagnolo (Mrs.) Caron Clermont Collenette Comtois Corriveau Côté Cullen Daudlin Dawson De Bané Demers Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi)

LeBia LeBia (W Lefeb nd- Lessar Loisel (Ch Loisel (Sai Lumle MacD (Ca MacE, MacF, MacF,

Messrs. Lambert (Edmonton West) La Salle Lawrence Leggatt MacDonald (Egmont) MacDonald (Miss) (Kingston and the Islands) MacKay Masniuk Mazankowski McCain McCrossan McGrath McKenzie McKinley McKinnor Mitges Muir Munro (Esquimalt-Saanich) Murta Neil Nielsen Nowlan Nystrom

NAYS Messrs

Gauthier (Ottawa-Vanier) Gendron Gillespie Goodale Gray Guay Guilbault Harquail Herbert Holt (Mrs.) Hopkins Horner Isabelle Johnston (Westmount) Joyal Kaplan Lachance Lajoie Lalonde Lamontagne Lang Langlois Lapointe Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Westmorland-Kent) Lefebvre Lessard Loiselle (Chambly) Loiselle (Saint-Henri) Lumley MacDonald (Cardigan) MacEachen MacFarlane MacGuigan Maine

December 5, 1978

Oberle Paproski Parker Patterson Peters Pigott (Mrs.) Rae Ritchie Roche Rodriguez Rynard Saltsman Schumacher Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Shymko Siddon Smith (Churchill) Stevens Towers Wenman Whiteway Whittaker Wise Woolliams-98.

Marceau Marchand Martin McIsaac McRae Milne Munro (Hamilton East) Nicholson (Miss) O'Connell Olivier Ostiguy Ouellet Parent Pearsall Pelletier Penner Pinard Portelance Prud'homme Railton Reid Robinson Rompkey Rooney Roy (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Sauvé (Mrs.) Savard Smith (Saint-Jean) Stewart (Cochrane) Tessier Trudel Turner Watson Wood Yanakis Young-111.

• (2212)

Douglas

Duclos

Dupont

Duquet Ethier

Faulkner

Fleming

Foster

Francis

Fox

(Bruce-Grey)

Mr. Speaker: I therefore declare the motion defeated.

It being after ten o'clock, this House stands adjourned until tomorrow at two o'clock in the afternoon.

At 10:15 p.m. the House adjourned, without question put, pursuant to Standing Order.