Division

these diversions, whether it is the Liberal Cameron (Nanaimoconvention or the federal-provincial conference, to prevent the government from getting ahead with its program. I simply wish to say to my right hon. friend that he made a very powerful speech today in defence of freedom, as he always does. I suggest that this is an occasion when I think he has given a definition of freedom which is not implicit in the Bill of Rights. The Bill of Rights never for a moment assumed that in situations such as this there is a violation of Magna Carta or habeas corpus or of the Bill of Rights. Surely the great and noble sentiments that moved my hon. friend to bring in the Bill of Rights were not involved in the little grievance of the hon. member for Edmonton-Strathcona.

I suggest, Mr. Speaker, that you have taken your position respecting, as you must, the rights of an individual member and expressing your doubts about the full projection of those rights. Now it is our responsibility to determine whether or not the time of this house or of its committees should be wasted. I suggest it is clear that this house has already indicated in no uncertain manner that this motion must be turned down.

The house divided on the motion (Mr. Nugent) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Aiken Lambert Baldwin Loney Bell (Carleton) MacEwan Bigg MacLean (Queens) Bower Macquarrie Cadieu (Meadow Lake) McKinley Cantelon McQuaid Chatterton Madill Churchill Mandziuk Clancy Muir (Lisgar) Coates Nesbitt Crouse Noble Diefenbaker Nowlan Dinsdale Nugent Fane Pascoe Forrestall Rapp Fulton Scott (Victoria (Ont.))

Gundlock Sherman Hales Southam Hamilton Starr

Harkness Watson (Assiniboia) Howe (Wellington-Huron) Webb

Irvine Winkler-47. Jorgenson

NAYS

Messrs:

Addison Béchard Allmand Benson Andras Boulanger Badanai Brewin Barnett Byrne Batten Cadieux (Terrebonne)

[Mr. Martin (Essex East).]

Cantin Caouette Cashin Chrétien Clermont Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Davis Deachman Douglas Drury Dubé Duquet Éthier Fawcett Gauthier Gover Gray Greene Grégoire Groos Habel Haidasz Harley

Johnston Klein Knowles Lachance Laing Lamontagne Langlois (Chicoutimi) Langlois (Mégantic)

Laniel Laprise Laverdière LeBlanc (Rimouski)

Leboe • (4:40 p.m.)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

[Translation]

Mr. Prud'homme: Mr. Speaker, I rise on a question of privilege.

I do not know whether the whips notified the chairman of the Quebec Conservatives caucus, but I note that Conservative mem-

Mr. Speaker: Order.

[English]

Mr. Tucker: Mr. Speaker, I did not vote because I was paired.

[Translation]

Mr. Caouette: Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order.

Lefebyre Cowichan-The Islands) Legault MacEachen McIlraith McLean (Charlotte) McNulty McWilliam Martin (Essex East) Martin (Timmins) Mather Matheson

Matte Morison Munro Nicholson Orange Orlikow Patterson Pelletier Pennell Pickersgill Pilon Prud'homme Racine Reid Richard Rinfret Hellver Rock Honey Ryan Howard Schreyer Howe (Hamilton South) Simard Hymmen Stafford Isabelle Stanbury

> Tremblay Turner Walker Watson (Châteauguay-Huntingdon-Laprairie)

Whelan Winters-103.

Stewart

Tardif

Teillet

Tolmie

Thompson