COMMONWEALTH COMMITTEE OF FOREIGN MINISTERS

ON SOUTHERN AFRICA

First Meeting: Lusaka, 1-2 February 1988

Members of the Committee

The Right Honourable Joe Clark (Canada) - Chairman; The Honourable Bill Hayden (Australia); The Honourable Rashleigh E. Jackson (Guyana); The Honourable K. Natwar Singh (India); The Honourable Major-General Ike Nwachukwu (Nigeria); The Honourable Benjamin Mkapa (Tanzania); The Honourable Luke J. Mwansashiku (Zambia); and The Honourable Dr. Nathan Shamuyarira (Zimbabwe).

CONCLUDING STATEMENT

The Committee's first meeting was devoted to an initial consideration of the main areas of its mandate from Commonwealth Heads of Government under the Okanagan Statement and Programme of Action.

The Committee recognised at the outset that its task was of an ongoing nature and that some aspects of its work would be of a non-public character.

Its conclusions in Lusaka included the following:

(i) Sanctions

To widen, tighten and intensify economic and other sanctions against South Africa, the Committee has set in train an examination of the application of sanctions, involving their evaluation on a continuing basis, an assessment of their impact and an identification of efforts to frustrate them. It will take account of economic, political and other relevant considerations.

The Committee also agreed on the terms of reference of the expert study identified by Heads of Government in Vancouver on South Africa's relationship with the international financial system with a view to exploring the possibilities of effective action against South Africa in this area. Australia will continue to play a leading role in the preparation of this study. In this context, the Committee issued an urgent call on the international banks concerned not to participate in rescheduling exercises but to maintain maximum pressure on South Africa for early repayment of all due amounts.