THE SPECIAL ADMINISTRATIVE REGION OF HONG KONG

The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR), which consists of Hong Kong island, Kowloon and the New Territories, passed from British to Chinese sovereignty on July 1, 1997. The governments of China and Britain reached an agreement known as the Joint Declaration in 1984, which set out the conditions for Chinese sovereignty. The National People's Congress passed legislation in 1990 known as the Basic Law, which implements the Joint Declaration. This law establishes the principle of "One Country, Two Systems," and stipulates that the HKSAR will enjoy considerable autonomy over the next 50 years. The entry of tourists and business visitors and the regulation of business activities are among the matters that continue to be governed by HKSAR law.

Visiting Hong Kong

Temporary Visitors

Canadian citizens entering Hong Kong temporarily for tourism or business purposes do not require visas unless they intend to work. You must present your Canadian passport along with confirmed airline tickets for your onward journey and sufficient funds for your planned stay in Hong Kong. Your passport must be valid for at least one month after your planned departure date. A pass-

port valid for six months after your departure date is required to enter other parts of China and most other countries in the region.

Identity Cards

Every person over the age of 11 who enters Hong Kong with the intent of staying more than 180 days must apply for an identity card. The type of card issued will depend on the status of the