12

The Canadian Legislature may amend certain provisions of this AcL

C ANA

Certain provisions shall not be altered.

Interpretation clause.

the Crown in Chancery, and the writ of election shall thereupon issue in like manner, mutatis mutandis, as in cases of vacancies occuring in the Legislative Assembly.

XXIX. It shall be lawful for the Legislature of the said province by any Act or Acts to be passed after the passing of this Act, to alter the electoral districts into which the said province is or shall be divided for the purposes of this Act, or to alter the laws relative to elections of members of the Legislative Council, the issuing and return of writs of election, the provisions respecting returning officers at such elections, and other matters incident to or connected with such elections, or relative to the vacating of the seats of elected members of the Legislative Council, or to the trial of controverted elections of persons returned as members thereof, or of election petitions and matters incident thereto; but neither the qualification herein required for members of the Legislative Council, nor their period of service as such if their scats be not vacated before such period expires, nor the power of the Governor of the said province to dissolve the said Council, shall be altered or affected by any such Act, nor shall it be lawful for the said Legislature to divide the province for the purpose of representation in the Legislative Council, otherwise than into sixty electoral districts, thirty of which shall be in Upper Canada and thirty in Lower Canada, nor to alter the number of members of the said Council, nor to cause such electoral districts to be represented in the Legislative Council otherwise than by one member each.

XXX. The expressions "The Legislative Council" or "The said Council," and "The Legislative Assembly" in this Act shall be understood to mean respectively, the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly of the said province of Canada, the name of any officer shall include his deputy or the person performing the duties of his office; and the other words and expressions in this Act shall have the same meaning as the like words and expressions in the Act hereby amended, and shall be construed with reference thereto.

SCHEDULE.

ELECTORAL DISTRICTS for the Legislative Council of the province of Canada, referred to

in the foregoing enactments.

The counties, ridings, cities and towns intended in this Schedule, are those described and established or adopted and referred to for purposes relative to representation in the Legislative Assembly, in and by the Act of the Legislature of the said province, passed in the sixteenth year of Her Majesty's reign, and intituled, An Act to enlarge the Representation of the People of this Province in Parliament.

Names	of the
Electoral	Districts.

Of what such Electoral Districts shall respectively consist.

- 1. Beaupre.
- 2. Quebec.
- 3. St. Roch.
- 4. Ste. Anne.
- 5. Yamachiche.
- 6. The Gulf.
- 7. Trois Pistoles.

Lower Canada.

The counties of Chicoutimi, Tacousac, Saguenay, and Montmorency.

So much of the city of Quebec as lies within the parish of Notre Dame de Quebec, and the parish of Ste. Foy, in the county of Quebec.

So much of the city of Quebec as lies within the parish of St. Roch de Quebec, and all the county of Quebec except the parish of Ste. Foy.

The counties of Portneuf and Champlain.

The counties of St. Maurice and Maskinonge, and the town of Three Rivers.

The counties of Gaspé and Bonaventure, and so much of the county of Rimouski as lies to the north-eastward of the north-eastern boundary of the parish of St. Germain prolonged to the Province Line, with all the islands in the river St. Lawrence

lying opposite and nearest to the said electoral district.

So much of the county of Rimouski as is not included in the electoral district of The Gulf, the county of Temiscouatas and so much of the county of Kamouraska as lies to the northeastward of the north-eastern boundary of the parish of St. Louis as far as that of St. Paschal, and thence to the north-eastward of the south-western line of the said parish of St. Paschal and of the township of Woodbridge prolonged to the province line, so as to exclude the said parish of St. Louis, but including in the said electoral district the said parish of St. Paschal and the said township of Woodbridge, with all the islands in the river St. Lawrence, lying opposite and nearest to the said electoral district.