Mr. Caouette: That is the principle of the Cameron (Nanaimo-Cowiehan-The Isla

Mr. Dupuis: The hon. member for Villeneuve does not want to proceed in the usual way.

Mr. Caouette: Mr. Chairman, I hear the hon. member for St. Jean-Iberville-Napierville (Mr. Dupuis) say that we do not want to proceed in the usual way.

Mr. Dupuis: That is right.

Mr. Caoueite: What we do not accept is the fact that we are studying the bill clause by clause while we should be considering it as a whole.

We moved an amendment which the Chair ruled out of order and we appeal against that ruling. If the hon. member for St. Jean-Iberville-Napierville used his head, he should understand that.

Mr. Dupuis: The hon. member for Villeneuve refuses to proceed in the normal way.

Mr. Caouette: Mr. Chairman, if the hon. member for St. Jean-Iberville-Napierville wants to speak, I suggest that he address himself to the Chair.

[Text]

Mr. Deputy Speaker resumed the chair, and the chairman of the committee made the following report:

In committee of the whole when clause 1 of Bill S-7 was being considered, the hon. member for Lapointe moved an amendment as follows:

[Translation]

Mr. Gregoire, seconded by Mr. Caouette, moved that the said Bill S-7, which differs in French from the English version and which is not very clear, be referred to the committee for a period of six months.

[Text]

The Chair ruled the proposed amendment out of order on the grounds that it was irrelevant to clause 1 of the said bill. Whereupon, the hon. member for Villeneuve appealed to the house from the decision of the Chair.

The house divided on the question: Shall the ruling of the chairman be confirmed? And the ruling was confirmed on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Addison Aiken Alkenbrack Armstrong Asselin (Notre Dame de Grace) Asselin (Richmond-Wolfe) Badanai Balcer Barnett Batten Bechard Benidickson Berger Bigg Blouin Boulanger Brewin Byrne Cameron (High Park)

Cowichan-The Islands) Cantelon Cantin Cardiff Cardin Caron Carter Casselman. Mrs. Chatterton Chevrier Chretien Churchill Clancy Coates Cote (Chicoutimi) Crossman Crouse Danforth Davis Deachman Deschatelets Dinsdale Doucett Douglas Drouin Drury Dube Dupuis Emard Enns Ethier Eudes Fairweather Fane Favreau Fisher Fleming (Okanagan-Revelstoke) Flemming (Victoria-Carleton) Forbes Forest Francis Frenette Garland Gelber Gendron Godin Grafftey Granger Grav Groos Guay Habel Hahn Haidasz Hales Hamilton Harley Hays Hellver Herridge Honey Horner (Acadia) Horner (Jasper-Edson) Howard Howe (Wellington-Huron) Irvine Jewett, Miss Jorgenson Kennedy Kindt Klein Knowles Korchinski Lachance

Division Laing Lamb Lamontagne Laniel Laverdiere Leduc Lloyd Lonev Macdonald MacEachen MacEwan MacInnis MacLean (Queens) Macquarrie MacRae McBain McCutcheon McIlraith McIntosh McMillan McNulty McWilliam Madill Mandziuk Martin (Essex East) Mather Matheson Matte Millar Mitchell Monteith Moore Moreau Morison Muir (Cape Breton North and Victoria) Mullally Munro Nasserden Nesbitt Nicholson Nielsen Nixon Nugent O'Keefe Orlikow Ormiston Ouellet Pascoe Patterson Pennell Pepin Peters Pickersgill Pigeon Prittie Pugh Rapp Regan Ricard Richard Rideout Rinfret Robichaud Rock Rouleau Roxburgh Rvan Rynard Sharp Simpson Slogan Smallwood Southam Starr Stefanson

Stenson

Tardif