COMMONS DEBATES

Fournier

Geoffrion

might make it in another, and he did not think the hon. gentlemen opposite were consistent in this respect. Mr. Bertram might have suffered a wrong, but they were not the tribunals to decide the matter. A proper tribunal had been established and it was their duty to refer the matter to that tribunal. The hon. gentleman opposite had complained that the people of Peterborough West would not be properly represented.

He (Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald) called the attention of the House to the time when the late Mr. Sandfield Macdonald moved in the Ontario Legislature the adjournment of the House for a few weeks until the representatives were elected for a number of constituencies then unrepresented. The hon. gentleman at that time opposed the motion, and, taking a vote before the election of those representatives, succeeded in defeating the Government. This was not in accordance with his present argument. He held they were not bound to act upon the precedents of the old Parliament. The reason they followed the precedents of England was because the law was the same here as there.

The hon. gentleman referred to the action of the Nova Scotia Government to show that the Government in these particulars were acting constitutionally, and he also read a long article by Mr. Todd in support of the same. The course the House should pursue was to reject the motion and refer the matter to a committee for decision, and he was satisfied the Committee would arrive at a right and just conclusion.

The reason that he had moved an amendment was not to oust the House of its jurisdiction because it had no jurisdiction, but that the opinion of the legal committee might be got; the House could deal with the case afterwards. The tribunal appointed by law would decide whether the party claiming the seat or the party holding it was the right one.

The motion in amendment to the amendment being then put to the vote it was lost on the following:

Yeas 79; nays 95.

YEAS

Archibald

Findlay

Fleming

Messrs.

Anglin Bain Bergin Blake Bourassa Boyer Buell Casey Cauchon Church Cook De Saint-Georges Dorion (Napierville) Ferris

Béchard Blain Bodwell Bowman Brouse Cartwright Casgrain Charlton Coffin Delorme Dorion (Drummond—Arthabaska) Edgar

Gillies Harvey Holton Huntington Joly Landerkin Mackenzie Metcalfe Oliver Paterson Pelletier Pozer Ray Richards Ross (Middlesex West) Ross (Victoria) Rymal Smith (Peel) Stirton Thompson (Haldimand) Trow Wilkes Young (Waterloo South)-79 Galbraith Gibson Hagar Higinbotham Horton Jetté Laflamme Langlois Mercier Mills Pâquet Pearson Pickard Prévost Richard (Mégantic) Ross (Durham East) Ross (Prince Edward) Ross (Wellington) Scatcherd Snider Taschereau Tremblay White (Halton) Young (Montreal West)

NAYS

Messrs.

Almor Baker Beaubien Benoit Bowell Brown Cameron (Cardwell) Carling Chipman Colby Crawford Currier Dalv Dodge Dormer Dugas Farrow Fortin Gendron Gibbs (Ontario South) Grant Haggart Hincks (Sir Francis) Keeler Lacerte Lantier Little McDonald (Cane Breton) MacKay Masson McAdam McGreevy Mitchell Morrison Nelson O'Reillv Pinsonneault

Baby Beaty Bellerose Blanchet Brooks Burpee (St. John) Campbell Carter Chisholm Costigan Cunningham Cutler Dewdney Domville Doull Duguay Flesher Gaudet Gibbs (Ontario North) Glass Grover Harwood Howe Kirkpatrick Langevin LeVesconte Macdonald (Sir John A.) McDonald (Pictou) Mailloux Mathieu McDougall Merritt Moffatt Nathan O'Connor Palmer Pope