March 18, 1987

COMMONS DEBATES

Robinson

Rodriguez

Rompkey

Skelly

(c) to reduce farm input costs through methods that include measures to deal with high chemical prices; and

(d) in view of the worsening farm debt crisis, to provide greater assistance to preserve the family farm as the primary means of production and a vital part of rural Canadian life.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): In my opinion, the nays have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): Call in the Members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Foster), which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 76)

YEAS

Members

Allmand Althouse Axworthy Baker Berger Boudria Broadbent Caccia Copps de Corneille Dingwall Finestone Foster Frith Garneau Gauthier

Gray (Windsor West) Grondin Guilbault (Saint-Jacques) Heap Henderson Hopkins Hoydebo Isabelle Jewett Johnston (Saint-Henri-Westmount) Kaplan Killens

Lapierre Malépart Manly McCurdy McDonald (Broadview Greenwood) Mitchell Murphy Nicholson (Trinity) Nystrom Parry Pépin Prud'homme Riis

Andre Attewell Beatty Bernier Binns Blackburn (Jonquière) Blais Blenkarn Bouchard Bourgault Bradley Browes Caldwell Cardiff Champagne (Champlain) Clark (Brandon-Souris) Clinch Comeau Cook Cooper Corbett Cossitt Côté (Lac-Saint-Jean) Crofton Crouse Darling Daubney Domm Dorin Duguay Duplessis Edwards Ellis Epp (Provencher) Fennell Forrestall Gagnon Gass Gérin Gervais

Girard

Gormley

Graham

Tardif (Richmond-Wolfe) Tobin Turner (Vancouver Quadra)

Supply

NAYS

Members

Grisé Guilbault (Drummond) Gustafson Halliday Hamelin Hamilton Hardey Harvey Hawkes Hees Hicks Hnatyshyn Horner Hudon Jacques James Jardine Jelinek Jepson Johnson (Bonavista-Trinity-Conception) Ioncas Jourdenais Kelleher Kempling King Lawrence Lavton Lesick Lewis Lopez Mailly Malone Mantha Martin Masse Mazankowski McCain McCuish McDermid McInnes McKenzie McKinnon Merrithew Minaker Moore

Murta Nicholson (Niagara Falls) Nickerson Oberle Oostrom Pennock Peterson Pietz Price Redway Reimer St. Germain St-Julien Schellenberg (Nanaimo--Alberni) Schellenberger (Wetaskiwin) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Shields Siddon Sparrow Speyer Stackhouse Stevens Stewart Tardif (Charlesbourg) Thacker Towers Tremblay (Québec-Est) Tupper Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Valcourt Van De Walle Vankoughnet Vincent Warner Winegard

Wise-125

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): I declare the motion lost.

It being 6.31 p.m., the House stands adjourned until tomorrow at 11 a.m., pursuant to Standing Order 3(1).

The House adjourned at 6.31 p.m.

Waddell

Young -50