Port de Grave Division thereof, lying between Turk's Gut exclusive, and Port de Grave inclusive; two by the Electors residing in that part of the Division of Dis. said District, to be called the Harbour Grace Division thereof, lying between Port de Grave exclusive and Harbour Grace inclusive, including Harbour Grace Island; one by the Electors residing in that part of the said District, to be called the Carbonear Division thereof, lying between Harbour Grace exclusive and Fresh Water exclusive; one by the Electors residing in that part of the said District, to be called the Bay de Verds Division thereof, lying between Fresh Water and Bay de Verds both The District of Saint John's, which shall comprise the present inclusive. Electoral District of Saint John's, and shall extend Southward and Westwardly, to a straight line drawn from Petty Harbour inclusive to the Northern Goulds Bridge on the Bay Bulls Road, and thence to Broad Cove, inclusive, shall be Represented in the said General Assembly by Six Members, of whom Three shall be chosen by the Electors of the said District residing Southward of Saint John's Harbour, and Westward of a Line drawn from said Harbor through the centre of Beck's Cove, thence across Duckworth Street round the West side of Play House Hill, along the centre of Carter's Lane-up Carter's Hill, thence along Cook's Town Road, thence along Fresh Water Road to the West end thereof, and thence in a direct line to Broad Cove Settlement inclusive; which shall be called the Division of Saint John's West; and Three by the Electors of the said District residing Eastward and Northward of the above named Cove, Line, Lane and Roads, including Belle Isle; which shall be called the Division of Saint John's East. The District of Ferryland, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present Electoral District of Ferryland, and extending to the said South Western boundary of the said District of Saint John's, and shall be Represented in the said General Assembly by Two Members. The District of Placentia and Saint Mary's, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present Electoral District of Placentia and Saint Mary's, and shall be Represented in the said General Assembly by Three Members. The District of Burin, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present Electoral District of Burin, and shall be Represented in the said General Assembly by Two Members. The District of Fortune Bay, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present Electoral District of Fortune Bay, and shall be Represented in the said General Assembly by One Member; and also all that part of the South Coast of the Island, lying between Bonne Bay and Cape Ray, with the Islands adjacent thereto, shall form an Electoral District, to be called the District of Burgeo and LaPoile, and shall be Represented in the said General Assembly by One Member.

Preamble.

And whereas in pursuance of the Provisions of an Act passed in the Tenth and Eleventh Years of the Reign of Her present Majesty, entitled "An Act to render permanent certain parts of the Act for amending the Constitution of the Government of Newfoundland," Her Majesty, by Royal Instructions bearing date the Nineteenth Day of July, One Thousand Eight Hundred and Forty Eight, did among other things declare, that the Qualification of Persons thereafter to be Elected to serve as Members of the Assembly of this Island, should be fixed at a net annual income, arising from any source whatever, of One Hundred Pounds, or the possession of Property, clear of all Incumbrances, exceeding Five Hundred Pounds in value; and the length of the period of Residence within the said Island which should be required in addition to any other Qualification for being Elected to the General Assembly aforesaid, should be the ·Period of Two Years preceding such Election.