Senator Frith: We want a vote.

The Hon. the Speaker: Is it your pleasure to adopt it now?

Senator Argue: With a vote.

The Hon. the Speaker: Will those honourable senators in favour of the motion please say "yea".

Some Hon. Senators: Yea.

The Hon. the Speaker: Will those honourable senators opposed to the motion please say "nay".

Some Hon. Senators: Nay.

The Hon. the Speaker: In my opinion the "yeas" have it. And two honourable senators having risen.

The Hon. the Speaker: Please call in the senators.

• (1810)

The Hon. the Speaker: Let the doors to the chamber be locked.

Motion agreed to and bill read second time on the following division:

YEAS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Asselin	MacDonald
Barootes	(Halifax),
Bazin	Macquarrie
Beaudoin	Murray
Bielish	Nurgitz
Bolduc	Phillips
Cochrane	Poitras
David	Robertson
Doody	Rossiter
Doyle	Simard
Flynn	Tremblay
Kelly	van Roggen-24.
Lang	

NAYS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Nil

ABSTENTIONS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Adams	Lefebvre
Anderson	Lucier
Argue	MacEachen
Bosa	Marchand
Buckwold	Marsden
Cools	McElman
Corbin	Molgat
Cottreau	Neiman
Denis	Perrault
Fairbairn	Petten
Frith	Stewart
Graham	(Antigonish-
Guay	Guysborough)
Hastings	Stollery
Hays	Thériault
LeBlanc	Turner
(Beauséjour)	Wood—32.
Leblanc	
(Saurel)	

• (1820)

The Hon. the Speaker: Let the doors be opened.

REFERRED TO COMMITTEE

The Hon. the Speaker: Honourable senators, when shall this bill be read the third time?

On motion of Senator Murray, bill referred to the Standing Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs.

The Senate adjourned until tomorrow at 2 p.m.