8822

Division

Provincial Service Agency Ltd., Electric Furnace Products Co. Ltd., Scotts Restaurants, Bank of Nova Scotia, Union Carbide Canada Ltd., Park Pen, Acadia Atlantic Sugar Refinery Ltd., United Steel Corporation Ltd., Allied Towers Merchants, Capital Wire Cloth Ltd., Acadia Pulp and Paper Ltd., Dominion Oxygen Co. Ltd., Domet Ltd. and National Carbon Ltd.

That is a list of the directorships the chairman holds. Can it be said he is acting impartially on behalf of the Canadian people when legislation comes before that committee? I could spend the next 15 minutes setting out the various directorships held by members of the Senate who formed the committee which studied this question. Is it any wonder that amendments coming from the Senate should be the type of amendment we have before us this afternoon?

As the hon. member for York East said, an attempt was made by the government in the first instance to deal with these trading and proxy problems in the light of the increasing sophistication of modern corporations. But by the time the legislation had moved from the House of Commons to the committee and back, and into the Senate and back, its original purpose had been defeated. I call upon the strong and free members of the Liberal party to stand up and vote against this bill. Let them pay no attention to the hon, member for York East. Even though he does speak eloquently, he has not the courage or the strength to vote against this measure. But I would expect other hon. members, more especially those from Toronto who know what happens on Bay Street and who are familiar with the corporate chicanery which prevails, to refuse to fall in and follow the weak shadow boxing champion of Canada, the Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Basford), which was agreed to on the following LeBlanc (Rimouski) division: Lefebvre

YEAS

Messrs:

Alexander Alkenbrack Anderson Andras Asselin Badanai Baldwin Barrett Basford Béchard Béchard Beer Bell Benson Bigg [Mr. Gilbert.] Blouin Borrie Boulanger Breau Buchanan Caccia Cadieu Carter Chappell Chrétien Clermont Code Comeau Comtois COMMONS DEBATES

Corbin Côté (Richelieu) Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Danson Davis Deachman Deakon De Bané Diefenbaker Dinsdale Douglas (Assiniboia) Downey Drury Dubé Duquet Éthier Faulkner Flemming Forget Foster Gervais Gibson Gillespie Goode Gover Gray Greene Grills Groos Guay (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Guilbault Harries Hellver Hogarth Hopkins Horner Howard (Okanagan Boundary) Howe Hymmen Isabelle Jamieson Jerome Kierans Lachance Laflamme Lambert (Edmonton West) Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt) Langlois Laniel La Salle Lefebvre Legault Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Lind Loiselle Lundrigan Macdonald (Rosedale) MacEachen MacGuigan Mackasey Macquarrie MacRae McBride McCleave McCutcheon

McGrath McIlraith McIntosh McKinley McNulty McQuaid Mahoney Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Marshall Mazankowski Monteith Moore Munro Noble Noël O'Connell Olson Osler Otto Ouellet Paproski Peddle Pelletier Perrault Portelance Pringle Prud'homme Ricard Richard Richardson Roberts Robinson Rochon Rock Roy (Timmins) Ryan Serré Sharp Simpson Smerchanski Smith (Northumberland-Miramichi) Smith (Saint-Jean) Southam Stanbury Stanfield Stewart (Cochrane) Stewart (Marguette) St. Pierre Sulatycky Thomas (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Thomas (Moncton) Thompson (Red Deer) Tolmie Trudeau Trudel Turner (London East) Valade Whelan Whicher Whiting Yewchuk-158.