According to a resolution passed at the meeting held in Montreal, in 1872, the Medical Bill, which occupied so much time in the early history of the Association, should again be brought forward for discussion. We do not know whether it is intended to again seriously take this Bill into consideration. We hope, however, that at least an opportunity will be given our Ontario friends to say whether they are yet willing to assist in having a Dominion Act passed. As a Dominion we are singularly placed with regard to the practice of medicine. Provincial barriers meet our brethren, which certainly should not exist. If the profession would only bury sectional jealousies, we might obtain-what we believe we must obtain before the profession in Canada can assume its rightful exalted condition-viz., a central examining board. Let us have one common portal by which to enter the domain of medicine. There is nothing which would so tend to make our profession esteemed-nothing which would make it so conscious of its own powers.

There is some little talk, as to whom should be president for the ensuing year. If the Association should decide that the office should not be held more than one year by the same person, we think that Ontario should again have the honour conferred upon it, of having the President from that Province. We do not wish to say upon whom the honour should be bestowed; but we think that the city of Toronto has some members of the association, who, from the active part they have taken in its welfare ever since its organization and from the high position which they hold in the profession, are worthy of the honour. We cannot close without saying that in our opinion the Association did itself honor last year at St. Johns in electing as its President, Dr. William Marsden, of Quebec, one of the most active of those who in future time will be honored as its founder in 1867-in the good old city of Quebec. He has ever been zealous in its welfare, and has done much to ensure its present prosperous condition.

TRI-ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COLLEGE OF PHY. SICIANS AND SURGEONS OF LOWER CANADA,

The tri-annual meeting of this body was held at Sherbrooke, P. Q., on Wednesday the Sth July. The following members were present,

Drs. Scott, Howard, Peltier, Rottot, Robillard, Millette, Francis W. Campbell, Hingston, Brigham, Gibson, Duchesneau, Russell, Rinfret, Tessier, Belleau, Marmette, Tetu, Pelletier, de St. George, Gilbert, Hamilton, Worthington and George E. Fenwick.

Dr. Scott, Vice-President, occupied the chair; and opened the proceedings with a few remarks. He stated that they had as yet been unable to have the books of the Treasurer audited, but promised that they would be by the time of the half-yearly meeting of the Governors in October at Quebec. The following gentlemen were elected members of the College, Drs. Reddy, Gardner, Trenholme and Kennedy of Montreal, and Drs. Millette, de St. George, F. X. Porrault, Scholfield.

Twenty-seven proxies were handed in, making the total number of votes represented: fifty.

Mr. Nathan Mercer, President of the Pharmaceutical Association of the Province of Quebec, was present. He submitted to the College a draft of a Bill which they were desirous of having passed by the Quebee Legislature, and requested the co-operation of the College. The committee to which had been committed this bill for its examination, reported to the College in its favor, and suggesting one or two minor alterations. Some discussion ensued, but eventually it was carried unanimously, that the report of the committee should be received and adopted.

For the City of Montreal.—Drs. Scott, Howard, Poltier, Rottot, Godfrey, Hingston, Robillard, and G. E. Fenwick.

For the Distret of Montreal.—Drs. Chamberlin, Weilbrenner, Brigham, Gibson, Church, Duchesneau, and F. X. Porrault.

For the City of Quebec.—Drs. J. E. J. Landry, R. H. Russell, Jackson, Tessier, Rinfret, Robitaille, Rousseau, and Belleau.

For the District of Quebec.—Dr. Michaud, L. J. E. Desjardins, Marmette, Dubé, To.u, P. Pelletier and St. Georges.

For the District of St. Francis.—Drs. Worthington, Gilbert and Hamilton.

For the District of Three Rivers.—Drs. J. J. Ross, A. G. Fenwick and Landry.

The Governors elect then proceeded to.