## MEDICO-CHIRURGICAL SOCIETY OF MONTREAL.

The Annual Meeting of the Medico-Chirurgical Society of Montreal took place on the evening of Friday the 19th of October, 1877, in the Natural History Society's Rooms, the President Dr. GEO. E. FENWICK, in the chair. There were present, Drs. Henry Howard, Kennedy, Osler, Loverin, Edwards, Dugdale, McConnell, Park, Armstrong, Shepherd, Ross, Falton, Proudfoot, John Bell, Richard MacDonnell.

The minutes of the previous meeting were not read.

The President read his annual address. He referred to the value of manyof the papers read during the past year, many of which had found their wayinto the Medical press both of England and the United States.

The subject of the report of contagious diseases to the Health department, as well as that of renting rooms for the exclusive use of the society, was dwelt upon. He concluded by referring with deep regret to the melancholy death of Dr. Cline, whose life, sacrificed in the discharge of his duty, was a loss the society could ill sustain.

It was proposed by Dr. Trenholme, seconded by Dr. Henry Howard, and unanimously resolved :

"That this Society desires to express its profound sorrow at the sudden death of Dr. Cline, the late Secretz: v of this Association, and to make known its high appreciation of the integrity, ability, and geniality which had won for him the esteem and respect of every member. And, while deploring his sudden removal from our midst, as he was about to enter upon a most promising career of usefulness, it desires to convey to his family its unfeigned sympathy in their irreparable loss and affliction. Also, that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the family of the late Dr. Cline."

Dr. Howard in seconding the resolution, stated how much, though a comparative stranger to Dr. Cline, he had been struck with the ability and assiduity he had displayed in the performance of bis duty as Secretary of this Society.

The Treasurer's report was then submitted to the meeting, and Drs. Ross and Dugdale appointed as Auditors. It was adopted.

A ballot for the election of officers for the ensuing year took place, with the following result :--President, Dr. F. W. Campbell; First Vice-President, Dr. H. Howard; Second Vice-President, Dr. Ross; Councillors--Drs. Fuller, Roddick, and John Bell; Secretary, Dr. Richard MacDonnell; Treasurer, Dr. Proudfoot (re-elected).

The following new members were proposed : Dr. Blackader-Proposed