THE SENATE

Tuesday, October 20, 1970

The Senate met at 8 p.m., the Speaker in the Chair. Prayers.

NEW SENATOR

The Hon. the Speaker: Honourable senators, I have the honour to inform the Senate that the Clerk has received a certificate from the Registrar General of Canada showing that Paul C. Lafond, Esquire, has been summoned to the Senate.

NEW SENATOR INTRODUCED

The Hon. The Speaker having informed the Senate that there was a senator without, waiting to be introduced:

The following honourable senator was introduced; presented Her Majesty's writ of summons, which was read by the Clerk; took the legally prescribed oath, which was administered by the Clerk and was seated:

Hon. Paul C. Lafond, of Hull, Quebec, introduced between Hon. Mr. Martin and Hon. Mr. Langlois.

The Hon. The Speaker informed the Senate that the honourable senator named above had made and subscribed the declaration of qualification required by the British North America Act, 1867, in the presence of the Clerk of the Senate, the Commissioner appointed to receive and witness the said declaration.

CONSTITUTION OF CANADA

JOINT COMMITTEE—COMMONS MEMBERS

The Hon. the Speaker informed the Senate that the following message had been received from the House of Commons:

Resolved,—That a Special Joint Committee of the Senate and of the House of Commons be appointed to examine and report upon proposals, made public, or which are from time to time made public by the Government of Canada, on a number of subjects related to the Constitution of Canada during the course of the comprehensive review of the Constitution of Canada, which review was agreed upon at the Constitutional Conference of the Prime Minister of Canada and the Premiers and Prime Ministers of the Provinces in February, 1968, and alternative proposals on the same subjects;

That the committee have power to appoint, from among its members, such subcommittees as it may deem advisable or necessary;

That the committee have power to sit during sittings and adjournments of the House of Commons;

That the committee have power to report from time to time, to send for persons, papers and records, and to print such papers and evidence from day to day as may be ordered by the committee:

That the committee have power to adjourn from place to place within Canada;

That the quorum of the committee be 17 members, whenever a vote, resolution or other decision is taken, so long as both Houses are represented and that the Joint Chairmen be authorized to hold meetings, to receive evidence and authorize the printing thereof, when 7 members are present so long as both Houses are represented;

That the committee be empowered to retain the services of three specialists to assist it in its work; and that it also be empowered to retain the clerical and stenographic help deemed advisable by the Joint Chairmen;

That the papers and evidence received and taken on the subject in the preceding session be referred to the committee and made part of the records thereof;

That the following Members be appointed to act on behalf of the House of Commons on the Special Joint Committee, namely: Messrs. Alexander, Allmand, Asselin, Breau, Brewin, Dinsdale, Fairweather, Fortin, Gibson, Hogarth, Hopkins, Lachance, Mac-Guigan, Marceau, McQuaid, Osler, Ouellet, Roberts, Rowland and Woolliams;

Ordered that the message do lie on the Table.

JOINT COMMITTEE-CHANGES IN COMMONS MEMBERSHIP

The Hon. the Speaker informed the Senate:

That a message had been received from the House of Commons to acquaint the Senate that the names of Messrs. Lessard (LaSalle), Douglas (Assiniboia), Prud'homme, Smith (Saint-Jean) and Cobbe had been substituted for those of Messrs. Hogarth, Osler, Ouellet, Roberts and Breau on the Special Joint Committee of the Senate and House of Commons on the Constitution of Canada;

That a message had been received from the House of Commons to acquaint the Senate that the names of Messrs. Lefebvre and McNulty had been substituted for those of Messrs. Marceau and Prud'homme on the Special Joint Committee of the Senate and House of Commons on the Constitution of Canada;

That a message had been received from the House of Commons to acquaint the Senate that the names of Messrs. Marceau, Hogarth, Osler, Breau, Prud'homme and Laprise had been substituted for those of Messrs. Lefebvre, Lessard (La Salle), Douglas (Assiniboia), Cobbe, Smith (Saint-Jean) and Fortin on the Special Joint Committee of the Senate and House of Commons on the Constitution of Canada.