MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY, April 16, 1959.

The Standing Committee on Railways, Canals and Telegraph Lines met at 9.50 a.m. this day. The Vice-Chairman, Mr. Howe, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Asselin, Badanai, Bell (St. John-Albert), Browne (Vancouver-Kingsway), Campbell (Stormont), Chown, Creaghan, Crouse, Drysdale, Fisher, Grills, Hardie, Horner (Acadia), Horner (Jasper-Edson), Howe, Kennedy, MacLean (Winnipeg North Centre), McMillan, Mc-Phillips, Monteith (Verdun), Nixon, Pascoe, Phillips, Smallwood, Smith (Calgary South), Tucker and Wratten. (27)

In attendance: Messrs. R. Kerr, Chief Comissioner, Board of Transport Commissioners for Canada; L. J. Knowles, Commissioner; A. S. Kirk, Director, Traffic Branch, J. Magee, Executive Secretary, Canadian Trucking Associations Inc.; J. Guest, representative of the Government of British Columbia; E. A. Charnock and H. Styffe, representing the Joint Transportation Committee of the Fort William and Port Arthur Chambers of Commerce; A. Mauro, representing the Government of the Province of Manitoba; and V. Stechishin, Manager, Manitoba Transportation Commission.

The Vice-Chairman observed the presence of quorum, and on Clause I of the bill called Mr. Guest who was further questioned.

Messrs. Charnock and Styffe were introduced and read a brief on behalf of the Joint Transportation Committee of the Fort William and Port Arthur Chambers of Commerce.

Following their questioning the Committee recessed at 11.15 a.m.

At 11.25 a.m. Mr. Mauro was called and assisted by Mr. Stechishin presented the views of the Province of Manitoba.

Questioning of Messrs. Mauro and Stechishin completed the Committee adjourned at 12.15 p.m. to meet again at 3.30 p.m. this day.

AFTERNOON SITTING

The Committee met at 3.30 p.m. this day. The Vice-Chairman, Mr. Howe, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Asselin, Badanai, Bell (St. John-Albert), Browne (Vancouver-Kingsway), Creaghan, Crouse, Drysdale, Grills, Horner (Acadia), Horner (Jasper-Edson), Howe, Johnson, Keays, Kennedy, Mac-Innis, McPhillips, Monteith (Verdun), Nixon, Pascoe, Phillips, Smallwood and Tucker. (22)

In attendance: In addition to those persons listed in attendance this morning, Messrs. H. H. Griffin, Assistant Chief Commissioner, Board of Transport Comissioners for Canada; H. A. Mann, Executive Manager, The Maritimes Transportation Commission; H. J. Darling, Chief, Economics Division, Department of Transport; and J. J. Frawley, Counsel for the Government of the Province of Alberta.