SPORTS

UNB Athletic Awards

Last Thursday was once again the day for the presentation of UNB's Athletic Awards. The recipients of this year's awards had much to be proud about as this was a banner year for Varsity Athletics.

This year brought to UNB, four A.U.A.A. Championship teams, three C.I.A.U. events which U.N.B. hosted, fifteen A.U.A.A. All-Stars, two C.I.A.U. All-Canadians, three C.I.A.U. Athletes of the Week, one A.U.A.A. Coach of the Year and several teams being ranked in the top 10 in the nation.

Local radio personality Norm Foster hosted the event and was his usual amusing self, but Dr. Garnett Copeland was the

hit of the ceremony with his statistical telling of how male athletes that die commite suicide by their onw hand or from eating and how female athletes die if they marry someone from their graduating class.

There were no surprises at the awards, Kevin Rochford was winner of the Labatts Shield for Top Male Athlete, an award he richly deserved, while teammate Dave Bluteau won the Kenneth Corbet Medal for the year's top all around athlete.

Winners of the Colin B. MacKay Shield were Jennifer George and Kathryn MacDougall. This marks the first time that there have ever been co-winners of this award.



From left to right - Kevin Rochford, Kathyrn MacDougall, Jennifer George and Dave Bluteau.

- M.V.P. Female Runner
 - Margaret MacDonald
- A.U.A.A. Championship Trophy (women) Walter Dohaney presenting

Field Hockey - "Red Sticks" Coach: Joyce Slipp

- **Trainers Award** Deana Johnson
- **Letter Winners Carol Cooper Gail Costello Barb Leaman**
- Janice Morrison A.U.A.A. All Stars Sue Grady Carol Cooper Janice Morrison
- M.V.P. Kathryn MacDougall

Kathryn MacDougall

A.U.A.A. Championship Trophy - (Barry Thompson presenting)

- "Beavers and Mermaids" -Kelly Cain Swimming Manager Awards

- **Kelly Cain**
- **Letter Winners** Kelly Cuddihy Tracy Slavin Wendy Stirling Sue Take Kirk Cutcliffe
- **Greg Pheeney** David Seabrook Peter Woodward
- Most Improved Female Swimmer Leslie Eglinton presen-3. Tracy Slavin
- Most Improved Male Swimmer
- **Bob Robinson** Women's M.V.P.
- Sue Verhille
- Gilman Leach Memorial Award (Men's M.V.P. Bob Stangroom presenting Peter Barton

Wrestling "Black Bears" Coach Leo McGee

Letter Winners Murray Reid Mike Sharpe

continued on page 18

Intramural sports

INTRAMURAL PROGRAM **SAYS THANKS**

The first Annual Intramural Appreciation Night was held on Sunday, March 25 to say "Thank You" to Convenors, Referees-in-Chief, Faculty Reps, House Reps, and Instructors. The evening began with skating and broomball at the Aitken Centre. After some activity the group re-assembled at the Lady Dunn Hall Lounge for a Submarine Smorgasbord and Ice Cream

Sundaes. Although a number of invited guests could not attend due to the pressures of mid-terms and papers, those who were there throroughly enjoyed themselves.

Without the hard work of all our Student Personnel we could not offer our extensive program. Sincere THANKS to all.

Anyone who would like to become involved in the Intramural Program should contact the Recreation Office, Room A120, L.B. Gym.

Men's Basketball - "Red Raiders" Head Coach: Don Nelson

- Manager Award Ross Antworth
 - **Trainer Award Barry Johnson**
 - **Letter Winners Eddie Crowe** Phil Guthrie Mark Newell **Tony Walker**
- Rookie of the Year **Andy Hayward**
- M.V.P. Chris McCabe

Women's Basketball - "Red Bloomers" Assist. Coach: Andy Cheam

- Manger Award **Holly Newman** Trainer Award **Beth Satter**
- **Bonnie McKenzie** Jackie Mooney
- Janet Nichols A.U.A.A. All Stars 3.
- Sue McMaster 1st team Jennifer George - 1st team & M.V.P. of League
- Rookie of the Year **Janet Nichols**
- Most Improved Player Bonnie McKenzie/Chris Matheson - shared
- M.V.P. 6. Sue McMaster
- A.U.A.A. Championship Trophy Doug Rogers presenting 7.

Cross Country - "Red Harriers" Coach: Mel Keeling

- **Letter Winners** Kevin Hooper Scott Prosser
- Helen D'Avignon Peake Memorial Trophy (Top Miler)
- Tim Soyle Dr. R.J. Love Trophy (Race Winner) - (Dr. Love presenting) 3. Tim Boyle
- Most Improved Player Helene D'Avignon M.V.P. Male Runner

Tim Boyle