sets up a central authority or government for the whole dominion, to deal with matters of dominion-wide concern; and an authority or government for each province to deal with purely provincial matters. Only a few amendments have been made to this Act, and these only at the request of Canada.

39. The Form of Government in Canada is Constitutional Monarchy; it is a monarchy limited and controlled by a constitution. It preserves many outward marks and characteristics of traditional monarchy, but in essence and effect it is a democracy; it provides government of the people, for the people, and by the people.

40. Parliament. This is our chief instrument of government. It was created by the B.N.A. Act, and consists of three branches—(1) The King; (2) the Senate; (3) the House of Commons.

41. The King. The head of our whole governmental system is the Monarch, sometimes called the Sovereign, who occupies the Throne by hereditary right, and reigns over all his subjects, but does not govern them. The throne may be occupied by either a king or a queen. The present occupant is a king, whose official title is "His Majesty King George VI, by the Grace of God, of the Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and of British Dominions Beyond the Seas, King, Defender of the Faith, Emperor of India." In his name, all governmental and executive authority is exercised throughout his dominions. Inasmuch as His Majesty resides in Great Britain, he is personally represented in Canada, under our constitution, by a Governor General.

42. The Governor General is appointed by the king on the advice of his council, who in turn, in recent years, have followed the advice of the Canadian government. His term of office is five years, as provided for in our constitution. He fulfils in Canada all the functions of the king, and is officially referred to as "His Excellency".

43. The Senate consists of 96 members appointed for life by the government of Canada on a basis of Provincial representation as follows:---

Ontario, 24; Quebec, 24; the Maritime Provinces (New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island), 24; the Western Provinces (Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba and Saskatchewan), 24.

Women and men are equally eligible for appointment. A Senator must be a British subject, of the full age of 30 years; must possess at least \$4,000 worth of real and personal property in the province in which he or she represents and must reside in that province. Owing to appointment for life, Senators need have no fear of politics. Their judgment is a steadying influence on the deliberations of parliament, and in past years has been able to save the country many millions of dollars and prevented the country from entering into unwise acts.

44. The House of Commons consists of members elected for a term not exceeding five years by the people in the several electoral districts or constituencies into which the dominion is divided. The number is at present 245, and varies with population, as shown by census. As wide latitude of choice is allowed, members generally reflect every substantial phase of common public opinion, and so express the will of the people.

45. The Work of Parliament is to direct and control all public business and affairs. In this it lays down "policies" to be followed, authorizes the imposition of taxes and the expenditure of money. It legislates directly by passing Acts of Parliament called Statutes. It administrates the affairs of the Dominion indirectly, through a *Civil Service*, acting under the general supervision of a *Cabinet*.