The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Call in the Members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Lewis) which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 511)

YEAS

Members

Andre Attewell Belsher (Bonaventure-Îles-de-Bernier la-Madeleine) Blackburn Greenaway (Jonquière) Halliday Blenkarn Hardey Harvey Blouin Bradley Hawkes Cadieux Hees Cardiff Holtmann Champagne Howie (Champlain) James Clark Jepson (Brandon-Souris) Johnson Clifford (Bonavista-Trinity-Collins Conception) Comeau Joncas Cook Kilgour Corbett Kindy Crofton Ladouceur Crosbie Lawrence (St. John's West) Lesick Crosby Lewis (Halifax West) MacDonald Darling (Kingston and Daubney the Islands) Domm MacDougall Dorin (Timiskaming) Duguay Mantha Duplessi Marin Fennell Martin Fretz Masse Friesen Mazankowski Girard McCrossan

McDermid McKenzie Minaker Moore Nicholson (Niagara Falls) Nickerson Oostrom Peterson Pietz Plourde Price Ravis Ricard Schellenberg (Nanaimo-Alberni) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Sparrow Stackhouse Taylor Thacker Towers Tupper Vankoughnet Vézina Vincent Wilson (Swift Current -Maple Creek) Wilson (Etobicoke

NAYS

Members

Allmand Caccia Axworthy Copps Benjamin de Corneille Blaikie de Jong

Dewar Finestone Foster Frith

Centre)-86

Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement

Isabelle Fulton Gagliano Langdon Gauthier McCurdy McDonald Grav (Windsor West) (Broadview Heap Greenwood) Hopkins Murphy

Prud'homme Rossi Tardif (Richmond-Wolfe)

Young-29

• (1920)

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): I declare the motion carried.

Mr. Riis: I have a point of order, Mr. Speaker.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): The Hon. Member for Kamloops—Shuswap (Mr. Riis) on a point of order.

Mr. Riis: Mr. Speaker, I simply wanted to say that I actually thought that it was a 30-minute bell. I came in late.

Some Hon. Members: Oh. oh!

Mr. Riis: Order.

Some Hon. Members: Resign!

An Hon. Member: Resign as House Leader.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): This is only Tuesday. It is August 16 and it is not a full moon. Could I have just a little order so that I can hear the Hon. Member for Kamloops—Shuswap?

Mr. Riis: Thank you, Mr. Speaker. I did want to say that had I made it in time, I would certainly have voted for democracy and against this particular motion.

Some Hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Some Hon. Members: Oh. oh!

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): I do not have to say that that was not a point of order.

CANADA-UNITED STATES FREE TRADE AGREEMENT IMPLEMENTATION ACT

MEASURE TO ENACT

The House resumed consideration of Bill C-130, an Act to implement the free trade agreement between Canada and the United States of America, as reported (with amendments) from a legislative committee.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Motions Nos. 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14 are grouped for debate. A vote on Motion No. 9 will apply to Motions Nos. 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14. Is the House ready for the question? The Hon. Member for Winnipeg—Fort Garry (Mr. Axworthy).

Hon. Lloyd Axworthy (Winnipeg-Fort Garry) moved: