



## 2 Who We Are

□ The Department has three Ministers:

- the Hon. William (Bill) Graham, Minister of Foreign Affairs;
- the Hon. Pierre Pettigrew, Minister for International Trade;
- the Hon. Susan Whelan, Minister for International Cooperation.

and three Secretaries of State:

- the Hon. David Kilgour, Secretary of State (Asia-Pacific);
- the Hon. Gar Knutson, Secretary of State (Central and Eastern Europe and the Middle East);
- the Hon. Denis Paradis, Secretary of State (Latin America and Africa, and la Francophonie).
- The Department is headed by two Deputy Ministers, one for Foreign Affairs and the other for International Trade. The Minister of Foreign Affairs has overall responsibility for the management and direction of the Department. There is also an Associate Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs.
- □ The Department is organized by geography and by issue. We have geographic bureaus that manage Canada's relationship with specific regions and countries. We also have bureaus that handle specific issues and programs for example, security and arms control, trade policy, international business development, international organizations, trade law, cultural and academic relations, environmental issue, and so on.
- The Department has its headquarters in Ottawa, but operates throughout Canada through local and regional passport offices and a network of trade commissioners in regional offices.
- Outside Canada, we have some 160 offices where our ambassadors and diplomats work directly with the governments of more than 180 other nations.

