DEPENDENT TERRITORIES

Trusteeship Questions

The international trusteeship system was established by Chapter XII of the Charter to promote the political, economic, social and educational advancement of the inhabitants of trust territories and to further their development to self-government. The territories are placed under this system by means of trusteeship agreements between the United Nations, on the one hand, and the administering authority on the other. Seven administering states have concluded trusteeship agreements specifying the terms under which each trust territory must be administered. These are Australia (for Nauru¹ and for the eastern part of New Guinea), Belgium (for Ruanda-Urundi), France (for the French Cameroons and for French Togoland), Italy (for the former Italian colony of Somaliland), New Zealand (for Western Samoa), the United Kingdom (for the British Cameroons, for British Togoland, and for Tanganyika), the United States (for the strategic trust territory of the Pacific Islands). Chapter XII of the Charter also established the Trusteeship Council which, under the authority of the General Assembly, has the task of overseeing the implementation of the trust agreements by the administering authorities concerned. The Trusteeship Council, of which Canada is not a member, is composed of the six administering powers listed above (Italy, although it administers Somaliland, is not included); the U.S.S.R. and China, and four other non-administering states. Thus a balance exists in the Council between administering and non-administering powers. The non-administering members of the Council for 1951-52 are the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Iraq and Thailand. The main functions of the Council are to guide the administering authorities in preparing their reports, to consider these reports, to examine petitions from the native inhabitants, and to send periodic visiting missions to the territories.

The administration of dependent territories has provided an issue in the United Nations on which the administering and the nonadministering powers are seriously divided. Among the reasons for this division is the belief held by many of the non-administering states, some of whom have themselves only recently emerged from dependent status, that the administering powers are not moving fast enough in the direction of self-government for the trust territories. They believe that this situation can only be corrected by an increase in the influence of the General Assembly on the Trusteeship Council and the administering powers.

Divergent views exist with regard to this extension of the role of the Assembly. No one disputes the fact that the Charter gives

¹The Governments of Australia. New Zealand and the United Kingdom have concluded a joint trusteeship agreement with the United Nations regarding Nauru. Australia acts as agent for the other two administering authorities and generally as their spokesman in matters concerning the administration of Nauru.