OUR JANUARY CATECHISM.

Question. Whence do the different churches fet their names?

Answer. Some from their teachings, some from their mode of church government, etc.

Q. Why is the Roman Catholic Church so named?

A. Catholic, because it claims to be universal, and Roman, because its centre of authority is in Rome.

Q. Why is the Episcopal Church so called?

A. Because it is governed by Episcopoi, or Overscers, called Bishops.

Q. Why is it sometimes called "The Church of England?"

A. Because it is the church established by law in England.

Q. Why are Methodists so named?

A. When they started they were nicknamed "Methodists" by worldly people, because they were careful and methodical in the duties of their worship. They made the re. proach a term of honor, and kept it.

Q. Why are Baptists so called?

A. Because of their mode of baptism and the importance they attach to it.

Q. Why are Congregationalists so named?

A. Because each separate congregation rules its own affairs, all the members of the congregation having a part.

Q. Why are we called Presbyterians?

A. Because our mode of church government is by Presbyters, or elders.

Q. Whence do we get this system of church government by Presbyters?

A. From the New Testament.

Q. What are the names of the church courts in the Presbyterian Church?

A. The Session, the Presbytery, the Synod, and the General Assembly.

Q. What is the Session?

A. A band of elders chosen by a congregation, who, together with the minister, manage the matters connected with its government and worship

Q. What is a Presbytery?

elder from each congregation in a given dis- Honan. in all fifty-two.

trict, and usually contains from ten to thirty congregations.

Q. What is the Synod?

A. It is made up of a number of Presbyteries, usually from six to twelve.

Q. What is the General Assembly?

A. It is made up of one-fourth of the ministers in each Presbytery and an equal number of elders. It has supervision over the whole church.

Q. How many Synods are there in the Presbyterian Church in Canada?

A. Six.

Q. Beginning in the East, what are their names?

A. 1. Synod of the Maritime Provinces, with ten Presbyteries, viz .:- Truro, Sydney, Inverness, Halifax, Wallace, Pictou, P. E. Island, Lunenburg and Shelburne, St. John and Miramichi.

There used to be a Presbytery of Newfoundland, but it is now united with that of Halifax.

2. Synod of Montreal and Ottawa, with six Presbyteries, viz.:-Quebec, Montreal, Glengarry, Ottawa, Lanark and Renfrew, and Brockville.

3. Synod of Toronto and Kingston, with seven Presbyteries, viz .:- Kingston, Peterboro, Orangeville, Barrie, Algoma, Owen Sound, Saugeen, and Guelph.

4. Synod of Hamilton and London, with nine Presbyteries, viz .:- Hamilton, Paris, London, Chatham, Stratford, Huron, Maitland, Bruce, and Sarnia.

5. Synod of Manitoba and the North-West, with nine Presbyteries, viz.:--Superior, Winnipeg, Rock Lake, Glenboro, Portage la Prairie, Brandon, Minnedosa, Melita, and Regina.

6. Synod of British Columbia, with four Presbyteries, viz.:-Calgarry, Kamloops, Westminster, and Victoria.

Q. How many Presbyteries are there in our church?

A. Forty-nine in Canada, besides the mis-A. It is made up of the ministers and an sion Presbyteries of Trinidad, Indore, and