Côté (Richelieu)

Côté (Longueuil)

McIlraith

Division

inserting therein, next following clause 34 thereof, the following new clause:

"34A. Where an individual, department or institution is aggrieved by a report or recommendation of the Commissioner, or by a decision made by him or other person or authority acting upon his report or recommendation, the individual, department or institution may appeal in respect of such report, or recommendation or decision on a finding of fact, a question of law or a matter of the merits to a superior court of record within thirty days after the individual, department or institution is first informed of the report, or recommendation or decision; the court may proceed by way of hearing or review and shall make such order therein as the court deems just and such order shall be final."

Mr. Speaker: Does the house wish to proceed with this division without the call of the bells?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

The house divided on motion No. 5 (Mr. Woolliams) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Aiken McCleave Alexander McGrath Alkenbrack McKinley Asselin McQuaid Baldwin Bell Mazankowski Bigg Monteith Code Moore Comeau Muir (Cape Breton-Crouse The Sydneys) Danforth Muir (Lisgar) Dinsdale Nesbitt Downey Nowlan Fairweather Ricard Flemming Ritchie Hees Rynard Horner Skoberg Howe Skoreyko Knowles (Norfolk-Southam Haldimand) Stanfield Korchinski Stewart (Marquette) La Salle Thomas (Moncton) MacDonald (Egmont) Thompson MacLean Woolliams-47. Macquarrie

NAYS

Messrs:

Anderson Brewin Andras Broadbent Badanai Brown Barnett Buchanan Barrett Burton Basford Caccia Béchard Cafik Beer Cantin Benjamin Chappell Benson Chrétien Blair Clermont Blouin Cobbe Borrie Comtois Breau Corbin

[Mr. Speaker.]

Crossman McNultv Cullen Major Cyr Marceau Danson Marchand (Langelier) Deachman Marchand (Kamloops-Deakon Cariboo) Douglas (Assiniboia) Mongrain Douglas (Nanaimo-Morison Cowichan-The Munro Islands) Murphy Drury Dubé Nystrom Éthier Olson Forest Orlikow Forget Osler Foster Otto Francis Ouellet Gendron Pelletier Gibson Penner Gilbert Pepin Gillespie Perrault Givens Peters Gleave Pilon Gover Portelance Grav Pringle Greene Richard Guav Richardson (St. Boniface) Roberts Guay (Lévis) Robinson Guilbault Rochon Haidasz Roy (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Harding Hellyer Rvan Hogarth Saltsman Hopkins Serré Howard (Skeena) Sharp Hymmen Smerchanski Isabelle Smith (Northumberland-Jerome Miramichi) Kaplan Smith (Saint-Jean) Kierans Stafford Knowles (Winnipeg Stanbury North Centre) Stewart (Cochrane) Lachance St. Pierre Laflamme Sullivan Laing Thomas (Maisonneuve) Langlois Thomson Laniel Tolmie Leblanc (Laurier) Trudeau Lefebvre Trudel Legault Turner (London East) Lessard (LaSalle) Turner (Ottawa-Lessard Carleton) (Lac-Saint-Jean) Wahn Lind Walker Loiselle Watson Macdonald (Rosedale) Weatherhead MacEachen Whelan

• (3:40 p.m.)

MacGuigan

Mackasey

MacInnis (Mrs.)

Mr. McIntosh: Mr. Speaker, I did not vote for or against the amendment as I oppose the principle of the bill.

Whicher

Whiting

Winch-148.

An hon. Member: Sit down.

Mr. McIntosh: I will sit down when I want to. You can't make me.