committee reads hundreds of Canadian books (400 in 1972) and selects the best for awards in various categories. In 1972, winners included:

Robertson Davies, Jean Hamelin, Gilles Hénault, Dennis Lee, Antonine Maillet, John Newlove, Mordecai Richler and Yves Roby.

Previous winners include the following widely-read authors:

Margaret Atwood Pierre Berton Morley Callaghan Emily Carr R. MacGregor Dawson André Giroux Anne Hébert Margaret Laurence Irving Layton Stephen Leacock Jean Le Moyne Hugh MacLennan Marshall McLuhan Farley Mowat E.J. Pratt