The Lighthouse Service of the Dominion is comprised under the following Divisions, viz.:—The Ontario Division, embracing Lights above Montreal; the Quebec Division, extending below Montreal, and including the River and Gulf of St. Lawrence; the New Brunswick Division; the Nova Scotia Division; the Prince Edward Island Division, and the British Columbia Division. The total number of Light Stations in the Dominion on the 31st December last, was 443, and of Lights shown, 542; the number of Steam Fog-Whistles and Automatic Fog-Horns, 29, and the number of Light-Keepers, Engineers of Fog-Whistles and other assistants, with crews of Lightships, was 517.

The following are the number of Light Stations, of Lights shown, of Fog-Whistles, and of Automatic Fog-Horns in the Province of Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and British Columbia, at 31st December of each year, from 1868 to 1879, inclusive. In these numbers are included three Light Stations on the Coast of Newfoundland, maintained by the Dominion, one light from each of which is shown.

	Light Stations.	Light- houses.	Fog- Whistles.	Automatic Fog. Horns.
1868	198	227	2	•••
1869	219	2 33	2	•••
1870	240	278	4	
1871	264	297	8	•••
1872	280	314	13	•••
1873	316	363	17	•••
1874	3+2	384	18	•••
1875	377	444	22	•••
1876	407	488.	24	•••
1877	416	509	25	2
1878	427	518	25	4
1879	443	542	23	6

ONTARIO LIGHTHOUSE DIVISION.

This Division includes the Lighthouses and Lightships in that part of the Province of Quebec lying between Montreal and the boundary line between the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec, as also all the Lights in the Province of Ontario, embracing the Lights on the Ottawa River, the St. Lawrence River above Montreal, and Lakes Ontario, Simcoe, Erie and Huron, the Georgian Bay and Lake Superior.

The number of Lights in this Division at the close of navigation was 147, including both Lighthouses and Light-Beacons, four Lightships maintained by the Government, and one Lightship maintained in part by a subsidy from the Government. There are 101 Buoys and 11 Beacons.