House of Commons Debates

OFFICIAL REPORT

Speaker: The Honourable L. Rene Beaudoin

Friday, January 7, 1955

SECOND SESSION—TWENTY-SECOND PARLIAMENT—OPENING

The parliament which had been prorogued on the twenty-sixth day of June, 1954, met this day at Ottawa for the dispatch of business.

The house met at two o'clock, the Speaker in the chair.

Mr. Speaker read a communication from the secretary to the Governor General, announcing that His Excellency the Governor General would proceed to the Senate chamber at two o'clock on this day, for the purpose of formally opening the session of the dominion parliament.

A message was delivered by Major C. R. Lamoureux, Gentleman Usher of the Black Rod, as follows:

Mr. Speaker, His Excellency the Governor General desires the immediate attendance of this honourable house in the chamber of the honourable the Senate.

Accordingly, Mr. Speaker with the house went up to the Senate chamber.

And the house being returned to the Commons chamber:

VACANCIES

Mr. Speaker: I have the honour to inform the house that during the recess I have received communications from several members notifying me that vacancies had occurred in the representation, as follows:

Of Hon. D. C. Abbott, member for the electoral district of St. Antoine-Westmount, consequent upon his acceptance of an office of emolument under the crown.

Of Hon. Lionel Chevrier, member for the electoral district of Stormont, consequent upon his acceptance of an office of emolument under the crown.

Of Hon. Brooke Claxton, member for the electoral district of St. Lawrence-St. George, by resignation.

Of Rodney Adamson, Esquire, member for the electoral district of York West, by decease.

Of Lionel Conacher, Esquire, member for the electoral district of Trinity, by decease. Of Robert James Wood, Esquire, member for the electoral district of Selkirk, by decease.

Accordingly I addressed my warrants to the chief electoral officer for the issue of new writs of election for the said electoral districts.

NEW MEMBERS

Mr. Speaker: I have the honour to inform the house that during the recess the Clerk of the House has received from the chief electoral officer certificates of the election and return of the following members, viz.:

Of Claude S. Richardson, Esquire, for the electoral district of St. Lawrence-St. George.

Of Albert Peter Lavigne, Esquire, for the electoral district of Stormont.

Of John Borden Hamilton, Esquire, for the electoral district of York West.

Of Hon. George C. Marler, for the electoral district of St. Antoine-Westmount.

Of Donald D. Carrick, Esquire, for the electoral district of Trinity.

Of William Bryce, Esquire, for the electoral district of Selkirk.

NEW MEMBERS INTRODUCED

Hon. George C. Marler, member for the electoral district of St. Antoine-Westmount, introduced by Right Hon. L. S. St. Laurent and Right Hon. C. D. Howe.

Donald D. Carrick, Esquire, member for the electoral district of Trinity, introduced by Right Hon. L. S. St. Laurent and Hon. L. B. Pearson.

Albert Peter Lavigne, Esquire, member for the electoral district of Stormont, introduced by Right Hon. L. S. St. Laurent and Hon. J. J. McCann.

Claude S. Richardson, Esquire, member for the electoral district of St. Lawrence-St. George, introduced by Right Hon. L. S. St. Laurent and Hon. Alcide Cote.

John Borden Hamilton, Esquire, member for the electoral district of York West, introduced by Hon. W. Earl Rowe and Mr. J. G. Diefenbaker.

William Bryce, Esquire, member for the electoral district of Selkirk, introduced by Mr. M. J. Coldwell and Mr. Alistair Stewart (Winnipeg North).