URDU

COUNTRY: Pakistan

POST: Islamabad

Urdu became one of the three official languages along with English and Bangali when the largely Muslim population of the Indian sub-continent formed the Republic of Pakistan in 1947.

Similar to Hindi, Urdu is spoken by more than one hundred and sixty million persons in West Pakistan and Northern India. A large percentage of Urdu literary and technical vocabulary as well as some of the grammatical features are drawn from Arabic and Persian.

Written Urdu uses a modified form of Arabic script and is written from right to left (except for number sequence). There are 35 letters representing consonants only and no distinction for capital letters.